Top Ten Tuesdays

Top Ten Tuesdays – Inspiring Books

toptentuesday.jpg

I’ve decided to jump of the bandwagon and join in with Top Ten Tuesday (created by The Broke and the Bookish) and today’s theme is ‘Top Ten Things Books Have Made Me Want To Do or Learn About After Reading Them’. This is quite a tricky one to start off with, but I’ll give it my best shot! We all know how inspiring books can be, and in the past I’ve definitely been inspired…

Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell

Okay, so a simple one to start with. I loved this book – it called out to my younger self who dabbled in fanfiction, and reminded me of the simple pleasure of writing for fun! This book made me want to go back and write again – something I hadn’t done in a long time. It made me want to sit and write just because. I promise you, if you sit and write down a few words every day, your world is a little bit brighter (or at least it is for me).

The Reason I Jump: the inner voice of a 13 year old boy with Autism by Higashida Naoki.

If you don’t already know, I am a primary school teacher. Every day in my working life I encounter amazing children – each with their own personality, quirks and backgrounds. It’s my job to cater for each of those children, and provide a day which caters for all of their needs (and they say teaching is easy!). This book called to me because I have taught quite a few children on the Autistic spectrum, and it was so refreshing to hear from a child’s perspective. This book made me think. Everyone should read it.

I Capture the Castle by Dodie Smith

This was a children’s classic I picked up after a long absence from this genre. In short, it made me want to read more children’s classics. They are often so lovely; that ‘settle down with a cup of tea and a cosy jumper’ sort of read.

The Handmaid’s Tale by Margaret Atwood and The Ocean at the End of the Lane by Neil Gaiman

I’m going to cheat the tag and say that because of something else, I was inspired to go and read these two books, or these two authors in general. A few years back I attended the Edinburgh Book Festival, and went along to hear these two authors interview each other. It was a fantastic panel, they spoke of their love of reading, their books and their upcoming works. From that evening, I was inspired to read their works and needless to say, I thoroughly enjoyed them!

The Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern

If you haven’t read this book, you’re missing out. After reading this, I wanted to live in this world and be friends with the characters. And it made me want to go to this circus – not any circus, just this one.

Yes, Please by Amy Poehler

Lastly, this book made me love Amy Poehler even more. Being from Scotland and not having much access to US television, I didn’t know much about her until a few years ago when a friend introduced me to the wonder that is Parks and Rec. After that, I was hooked. Amy seemed like such a genuine person – a person you could instantly be friends with, and her outlook on life made me want to go out and say – literally – Yes, Please.

Okay, so I got to seven. This was tricky – so many of my reads have inspired me in different ways. Most of all, reading in general lets me see the world from different perspectives and listen about problems in different voices. It’s a way of learning and experiencing. I’ll always love reading for that – for the gift of learning.

Let’s hope next Tuesday’s is a little bit easier for me! Feel free to comment about the books you’ve loved and learned from, and be sure to search the link at the top of the post to see what other’s have enjoyed too.

Leave a Reply

