TBR: To Be Read

August 2016: TBR

august16tbr

Let’s get straight to it: here’s what I plan on reading this month!

My Grandmother Sends Her Regards and Apologises by Fredrik Backman.

The book centres around the friendship between Elsa, a seven year old girl, and her wacky and while grandmother. They believe that storytelling is a superpower (and isn’t it just!). When Elsa’s grandmother leaves her a series of apology letters, Elsa finds out more about her grandmother and, in turn, herself.

The book looks just… adorable. I love reading books where the main narrator is a child – it’s so refreshing to see things from a younger perspective. Plus, since I’m a teacher, I often can relate to what is being said. I’ll admit I started this right at the end of July and it’s turning out to be such a good read! *Also, shout out to the creator of floppy books, I love you.

The BFG by Roald Dahl.

Sophie can’t sleep, and when she looks out her window she sees… a being; someone she really isn’t expecting.

I’ve joined a readalong for The BFG and I am so excited to read this again. I read it as a child and remember loving it, so I don’t doubt how much I’ll enjoy revisiting the magical world of Roald Dahl again.

Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire by JK Rowling.

Harry is back at Hogwarts for his fourth year and can’t wait to go back. However, the summer holidays have not eradicated the dangers which are present in his life and in this book, he must once again be on his guard.

Another reread; this time I’m at the half way mark of finishing my reread of the Harry Potter series. This is where the books start getting chunky so unlike last month, I’m only putting one HP book on my TBR. Looking forward to this though – I’m really enjoying being back in this world again!

A Darker Shade of Magic by V E Schwab.

There are four London’s and Kell is a magician with the ability to travel between these parallel universes…

I’ll admit, I don’t know too much about this series other than lots of people LOVE it. I don’t think that’s a bad thing though, sometimes it’s good to go into a book blind, especially in this genre. I’m always a bit worried about starting a series – sometimes it can be quite an undertaking – but with such a good reviews and recommendations, I thought I’d give this a try.

***

So those are the four books I intend to read this month. I’ve only got two more weeks of my summer holidays before I go back to work so I’m keeping my list short and sweet. If I manage to get through all these with the stress that is new kids and a new term, I’ll be really pleased.

What are you planning on reading this month? Have you read any of these: what did you think? I’d love to hear your thoughts. Happy reading this month, guys!

On another note: I’m joining a few August Book Photo Challenges this month just for fun – look out for my month of bookish photos on my Instagram – and for some I’ll be talking more about them in this blog, so keep a look out!

One thought on “August 2016: TBR

Leave a Reply

