Bookish

August 2016 Bookstagram Challenge: Week 1

I’ve been feeling snap-happy recently so I decided to join a few August Book Photo Challenges this month. And by a few, I mean four. Why not? Click here to view my Instagram and below, if you click the links, you’ll find the actual page with the photo and the hashtag, so you can see some more lovely photos along the same theme.

So, without further ado, here’s a few bookish pictures I took this week:

augch16-day3

Day 3 for #livelaughbookschallenge: Creative Titles.

I don’t know about you, but a fun and creative title draws me right in and makes me pick it up and read the blurb. I love long titles, because they make me curious, and I love short and snappy titles, because they pack a punch. A friend once perused my bookshelf and said she knew which books I’d like in future because they’d have absurd titles. It’s very true – I love a weird and wonderful title, and there are quite a few on my shelf: here’s just a small selection.

If you click here, you can read a full review of My Grandmother… it’s wonderful.

augch16-day4

Day 4 for #ausyachallenge: Long Term TBR.

I’ve had these on my shelves for forever, and I’m ashamed to say I’ve not got to them yet. They are such classics and I really want to read them – I’m sure I’ll get to them soon. As I’ve mentioned before, I have to be in the right mood for a classic, so let’s hope one of those moods comes along soon!

carolannduffy

Day 5 for #livelaughbooksaugust: Country Pride.

I wish I had more Scottish stuff to add to this picture, but I don’t have any. I guess that doesn’t make me very patriotic… or maybe just forgetful. Anyway, for this theme I chose my favourite Scottish storyteller and poet Carol Ann Duffy. She has some fantastic work and I’m sure I’ll write about some of her poetry very soon. Can we just sit and look at the cover though, because it’s gorgeous! If you look close enough, you can see a person peering out of the cover.

***

So there’s my favourite pictures from this week’s August challenges. I’ll be back next week with more!

Leave a Reply

