Bookish

2016: My Top 5 Books so far!

Can you believe we’re in August already? That means we are 2/3 of the way through 2016 and so, here are the Top 5 books I’ve read this year. They aren’t in any order because that would just be too difficult, but in my opinion, they are all brilliant!

top5books2016

Little Women by Louisa May Alcott

I had never read this book before, and it is such a classic that I knew I had to get to it sometime. This year was that time and I thoroughly enjoyed it. I actually listened to this as an audiobook – I used the free app Librivox which let’s you listen to classics for free! The characters were realistic, their struggles tugged at your heartstrings and it was such a lovely read.

The Golem and the Djinni by Helen Wecker

I stumbled upon this book in a second hand bookshop and picked it up because the blurb and the cover intrigued me. I was so glad I did! Such a compelling read. The story flicks back and forth from character’s perspectives and the story that unfolds just automatically drew me in! It’s quite big, but that didn’t deter me from this read. I definitely recommend it for fans of mystical and mysterious reads.

The Girl Who Circumnavigated Fairyland in a Ship of her Own Making by Catherynne M. Valente

I’ve talked a little bit about this series already (click here for my July Wrap Up where I read the third book in this series) but way back in January I read the first book in this series and got hooked! I hope to have finished the entire series by the end of the year.

Bossypants by Tina Fey

What can I say about this book that hasn’t already been said? Tina Fey is such a treasure and her book did not disappoint me. I had me laughing and giggling the whole way through and it was so interesting to hear more about the upbringing which formed such a good comedian. Tina and Amy Poehler = friendship goals, right? Amy’s book Yes Please is awesome too, by the way.

My Grandmother Sends Her Regards and Apologises by Fredrik Backman

*also called My Grandmother Asks Me To Tell You She’s Sorry in other editions*

Okay, so I just finished this book and instantly knew it had to be on this list! I loved this book and found the characters so endearing and lovely. It’s one of those life-affirming, comforting reads, and it had definitely been one of my favourites of 2016. Click here to read a spoiler free review.

*You can see all of the books I’ve read this year on my Goodreads page*

What books have you enjoyed so far this year? I’d love some recommendations! Enjoy these last four months of reading, with many more favourites to come I’m sure!

 

One thought on “2016: My Top 5 Books so far!

Leave a Reply

