Top Ten Tuesdays

Top Ten Tuesday: Books I Had VERY Strong Emotions About.

The Top Ten Tuesday’s tag was started over at The Broke and the Bookish, and this week we are rewinding the clock and picking a previous theme. Since I’m new to the tag, I had lots of wonderful themes to choose from. I picked this one: Top 10 Books I Had VERY Strong Emotions About. You have been warned…

***

ttt-aug9-1-16

The Book Thief by Markus Zusak

My heart broke when reading this novel. It’s undeniably good. I reread this book every so often and it still gets me every time. I still smile, laugh and cry all at once. A must read for anyone who hasn’t done so already.

The Fault in Our Stars by John Green

I mean, do I really need to say anything about this book? Everyone knows that you will enter this book and leave, never quite being the same person. I loved it and all the tears it brought.

One Day by David Nicholls

Okay, so I’ll admit that someone had actually spoiled this book for me before I read this book, but it didn’t take anything away from the reading process. I still felt all the emotions! It’s one of those books that you grow so fond of the characters, you feel part of their lives – you want to take them under your wing and bang their heads together.

ttt-aug9-2-16

Extremely Loud and Incredibly Close by Jonathon Safran Soer

Gut wrenching read. I read this and haven’t managed to go back to it since because of how it got to me. You’ll leave this book different than when you entered, too.

Maus by Art Spiegelman

Read this graphic novel for a uni course and it was unbelievable. Go, read this now.

The Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern

One of my absolute favourites. I want to be in this world and be around these characters. This story drew me in and I was very reluctant to leave.

ttt-aug9-3-16

The History of Love by Nicole Krauss

There’s something about this book. I don’t quite know what it is, but something is there that keeps bringing me back for more. Such a sweet and thoughtful novel.

The Knife of Never Letting Go by Patrick Ness

I remember feeling very angry when reading this. Angry about the situation, angry about certain characters and angry that certain characters were being put through certain things. Just… lots of anger. But it’s so good, believe me!

Room by Emma Donoghue

Another one that made me angry, but also unbearably sad and incredibly hopeful – all at the same time. It’s now been made into a movie (which I’ve not yet seen but lots of people say its amazing) and I’m sure when I get around to watching it, I’ll feel all of those feelings once more.

My Grandmother Sends Her Regards and Apologises by Fredrik Backman

I’ve been talking about this book so much recently, so just click here for a more in depth look at why it’s on this list.

***

There are a million more I could put on this list because I hardly ever finish a novel feeling neutral about it, but there’s my list. I’d recommend any of these books to you, but would advise you to probably not finish them on public transport for fear of scaring the other passengers. Happy reading, all!

 

Leave a Reply

