Top Ten Tuesdays

Top Ten Tuesday: Books with Mysterious Settings.

Today I’m focusing on books with slightly odd, wacky, mysterious, or something-just-not-quite-right settings. Another theme which, I’ll admit, threw me a little at first but since I love the weird and wonderful, I thought I’d give it a go. As always, Top Ten Tuesdays was started over at The Broke and The Bookish!

ttt-aug16-16

The House at the End of Hope Street by Menna van Praag

I think this might have been the catalyst for this theme today, as I am currently reading this book. One of the main characters in this book is actually the house – a mysterious building only appearing to those who really need it. It breathes and talks and makes things appear – you can even have conversations with the people in the photographs! Such an excellent, yet strange setting for a book!

The Museum of Extraordinary Things by Alice Hoffman

The whole world created in this novel is just a little bit odd. I remember feeling the strangeness the moment I stepped into this novel. It’s a wonderful book though. I’ve heard that quite a lot of Hoffman’s writing is to do with the mysterious – any recommendations?

The Fairyland Series by Cathrynne M Valente

Any book centring around Fairyland is going to have some fabulous and wacky settings – and this series does not disappoint on that front! Valente creates wonderful worlds in which September explores, and you are never quite sure what will happen next!

Jane Eyre by Charlotte Bronte and Rebecca by Daphne du Maurier

I read Rebecca a few years ago and I am currently reading Jane Eyre – and loving it! Bother of these books follow a similar vein, and have that mysterious feeling to the settings in them. Something at the pit of your stomach when the characters step into those grand houses – makes for a great read!

Coraline by Neil Gaiman

Or actually any of Neil Gaiman’s works, right? Because they are all splendid and strange.

Mr Penumbra’s 24 Hr Bookstore ┬áby Robin Sloan

I really enjoyed this book, and the prequel which was brought out afterwards. I am curious about any novels set in bookshops, libraries etc. This particular bookstore just feels magical and reminds me of that feeling I get when I am surrounded by books. I really recommend this book to book-lovers if you haven’t read it yet!

Harry Potter Series by J K Rowling

I don’t think I really have to expand on this one.

A Darker Shade of Magic by V E Schwab

The magic world – or worlds – created by Schwab in this book/series fit effortly into this theme. White London in book 1, right? Right. You can see a spoiler free review of this first book here.

The Strange Library by Haruki Murakami

A little bit of a different choice compared to some of the books above, but I had to slip this one in. I’ve only read a few Murakami books – and they are all a little odd in different ways, I think – but the setting of this one definitely put me on edge.

***

That’s that. See you next Tuesday!

 

Leave a Reply

