Top 5 Wednesday

Top 5 Wednesday: Favourite First Sentences.

I love these weekly tags and thought I’d jump on the bandwagon of another one: Top 5 Wednesdays, created by Gingerreadslainey and Sam. This week’s theme is Favourite First Sentences. I’m so excited by this theme that I’m not going to gush and I’ll just get started!

t5w-aug17-16

Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen

“It is a truth universally acknowledged, that a single man in possession of a good fortune, must be in want of a wife.” (Jane Austen, Penguin Books, 1813).

I mean, come on. I couldn’t do this list and not mention this book. It’s one of the best known first lines of a book and totally sets up the novel to be the goodness we know it to be!

I Capture the Castle by Dodie Smith

“I write this sitting in the kitchen sink.” (Dodie Smith, Vintage, 1949).

I read this a few years ago, wondering why I hadn’t picked up this Children’s classic before. It was wonderful and this sentence drew me in straight away. I remember thinking, “Is there nowhere else comfier for you to sit?”.

Yes Please by Amy Poehler

“I like hard work and I don’t like pretending things are perfect.” (Amy Poehler, Picador, 2014).

I first discovered how wonderful Amy Poehler is accidently watching Parks and Rec instead of something else. I never looked back. She is brilliant and her book is just as funny and thought-provoking as she seems.

The Secret Dreamworld of a Shopaholic by Sophie Kinsella

“Ok. Don’t panic. Don’t panic. It’s only a VISA bill.” (Sophie Kinsella, Black Swan, 2000).

I don’t mind admitting that, having been in a reading slump for quite a few years, this series brought me out of it again. It is fabulously funny – and I was hooked from the first line. Don’t panic, Becky. Don’t panic.

The Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern

“The circus arrives without warning.” (Erin Morgenstern, Vintage, 2012).

This book is so intriguing and so is this first line. So short, so snappy, so curious. This is one of those books I recommend to anyone, at any time they ask, because it is so good!

***

What are your favourite first lines? See you next Wednesday!

4 thoughts on “Top 5 Wednesday: Favourite First Sentences.

  1. OH wow, I’ve had Yes Please since the day it came out, and I STILL haven’t read it!! What is going on!? I love Amy Poehler. I guess I just haven’t been in the mood to read a memoir…That needs to change, and soon!

    Great Top 5! I never even thought to write down or mark the great first sentences in the books I’ve read, so this week’s topic was a little hard. I had to switch it up a bit 🙂 My T5W! 😀

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

