What's Cooking?

What I Baked: Lemon Cupcakes

landlinelemoncupcakes

When life gives you lemons (or you buy loads at the supermarket and you don’t used them), make lemon cakes! That’s the saying, right? Well, the original plan for today’s baking session was to make Lemon and Poppyseed Loaf – a real favourite of mine – but I forgot to add the seeds to my list. So here’s some lemon cupcakes.

The bakery book I used for this recipe was The Hummingbird Bakery Cookbook – a famous chain of bakeries, first set up in London I think, and one of my favourite baking books! Here are some reasons why:

  • It has all your favourites – seriously, I kid you not. You will find whatever you are looking for in this book. They have added recipes which sell well in their stores and I love them all!
  • The photographs are to die for! Such lovely photography – it makes you drool and then immediately want to bake all the cakes!
  • The recipes are easy to follow! Score! And it also gives you little hints as to any alternatives you’d like to put into the cupcake to spice it up a bit. That’s what I did here, following their suggestion – I hollowed out the inside of the cupcake and added some lemon curd. Yum. It also gives you a degree of flexibility – I changed up the icing to add something sweet so it merged nicely with the tangy lemon curd.
  • And a personal one to finish: I’ve spoken before about how expensive cookery books are and why I think this is really sad! I managed to find this gem of a cookbook in a charity shop for £2. You can’t get much better than that!

I definitely recommend this cookbook – I use it a lot considering I don’t bake as much as I’d like to. And like I mentioned, there are some firm favourites in here. Something for everyone.

Right-o! Until next time. *sits down with cup of tea and cake*

2 thoughts on “What I Baked: Lemon Cupcakes

Leave a Reply

