Top Ten Tuesdays

Top Ten Tuesday: Ten Books That Have Been On My Shelf Forever.

Today’s theme: Ten Books That Have Been On Your Shelf (Or TBR) From Before You Started Blogging That You STILL Haven’t Read Yet. TTT was started over on The Broke and the Bookish. This could be such a long list – and since I only started blogging a month ago we’ve got a lot of books to choose from, but since I’m confined to 10, let’s get started!

ttt-aug23-16

The Goldfinch by Donna Tartt

My friend recommended me this author and I picked up this book because of that. I just haven’t had the time to pick this up – it’s quite hefty, but I’m sure it’ll get there soon. Hopefully.

Northern Lights by Philip Pullman

I know, I know, why haven’t I read this yet? Truth is I have read some of it, about 14 years ago when I read it in school, but I never really enjoyed it. Hoping to pick it up again soon and enjoy this time.

Requiem by Lauren Oliver

By the time I get to this one, I’m going to have to read the other two just for it to make sense. It’s not that I don’t want to – it just hasn’t happened yet.

Americanah by Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie

Really interested in this one and I know that lots of people have loved this one. I bought it during a really large book haul and I think it got lost somewhere.

Tender is the Night by F Scott Fitzgerald

After finally reading The Great Gatsby, I bought this one straight away. And then didn’t pick it up. I’m a reading mess.

American Gods by Neil Gaiman

This one is a second chance book – I picked it up quite a while ago and then got distracted by other books. I was really enjoying it though, so it’s just a case of picking it up again.

Memoirs of a Geisha by Arthur Golden

Another recommendation from a friend. I’ll get to it.

The Sun Also Rises by Ernest Hemingway

I tend to binge buy classics and this is one of those.

Boy – Tales of Childhood by Roald Dahl

I have been looking through my Roald Dahl collection and I haven’t read his autobiographical work yet, so this is one I’m really excited to finally get to. As a teacher, Roald Dahl has been sent from God.

Middlesex by Jeffery Eugenides

I really enjoyed The Virgin Suicides, and this is one of my friend’s favourites. So, like all the others, I’ll get to it sometime.

***

So that’s the next couple of years sorted, right? I just don’t read books at the rate I buy them – which is bad, I know – so it’s something I need to sort it soon.

Happy reading, all!

Leave a Reply

