Top Ten Tuesdays

Top Ten Tuesday: Books to Use in School.

The Top Ten Tuesday meme was created by The Broke and the Bookish and this week is a Back to School Freebie. I’m really excited about this one! Being a teacher, I am constantly reading books that I think would be great to use in different classroom contexts. So here are some of my favourites. There’s ones here for all ages and stages, so I hope you enjoy.

ttt-aug30-16

Wonder by R J Paladio

I remember reading this one for the first time and thinking, “This would be so great to use at school!” It features lovely themes of believing in yourself, having self respect and making true friends. Such a great read.

Harry Potter series by JK Rowling

I’ve seen other teachers in my school use HP as a context for learning and all the kids have really enjoyed it. I’ve even done HP themed yoga and they loved it.

Night Monkey, Day Monkey by Julia Donaldson

Such a lovely book to share with younger children. ny Julia Donaldson book is great, to be honest. She creates wonderful stories with great themes that children will really enjoy. Plus, the illustrations are so cute!

Horrible Histories by Terry Deary

His books are hilarious and are full of wonderful, wacky facts that children love to get their teeth into. I’ve used HH books to teach various contexts, most recently the Vikings, and they make the subject seem much realer.

Matilda by Roald Dahl

An ultimate favourite of mine! Any Roald Dahl book, really. He has such a great way with words. Matilda was one of the reasons I became such a reader and I’d love to use that in the classroom to let children fall in love with the written word as I did.

The Girl of Ink and Stars by Kiran Millwood Hargrave

I read this book recently and it has great messages and looks into mythology and folklore stories in a really interesting way. It would be nice to see how the children reacted to them and perhaps use these as sources of inspiration for our own creative writing.

Have you Filled a Bucket Today by Carol McCloud

I used this last week with my current class. It talks of doing kind things and bringing happiness to others through simple, everyday things. You don’t need to do something extravagant to put a smile on someone’s face. It’s a lovely book to read at the start of term when new friends are being made. I’m going to do a mini-review of this book soon so look out for that.

The Boy in the Striped Pyjamas by John Boyne.

For older and more mature readers, this would be a really interesting read for those studying the effects of war. Coming from a young narrator, it would become very real for the learners and they would have to face similar emotions to those at that time. This book is so beautiful, I really enjoyed it and my heart ached throughout.

Lord of the Flies by William Golding

I read this book in high school and it really stuck with me. It deals with boyhood, morals, growing up and becoming an adult before you are ready. It is tragic and violent and really thought-provoking. I really felt like I came away a different reader after finishing it. It’s such a complex book – great for writing essays on too!

The Trick is to Keep Breathing by Janice Galloway

One of the last books I read in school, when I was 16/17. It’s a Scottish novel and is such an interesting read. The main character is dealing with emotional turmoil and mental distress – as everything is seen from inside her consciousness, even the structure of the book and layout is fragmented. It’s something really different – something for a person in their late teens and beyond.

***

Okay, those are my recommendations. I really loved this tag – it was such an appropriate one for me! If you are gonna use these with children, just take note of the age appropriateness. I was trying to encompass a whole range of ages in this list. Of course, use your own judgement, but these would be my suggestions.

Happy reading, everyone, and see you next Tuesday!

 

 

Leave a Reply

