Monthly Wrap Ups · TBR: To Be Read

August Wrap-up and September TBR!

Okay, here’s a quick reminder of the books I said I was going to read this month:

august16tbr

My Grandmother Sends her Regards and Apologises by Fredrik Backman.

Read/Unread

I LOVED this book. Utterly loved. I could gush about it for days but instead I’ll ask you to go over and read my review. Honestly, if you need a big laugh and a good cry, this one is for you.

A Darker Shade of Magic by V E Schwab.

Read/Unread

I wasn’t sure what to expect from this novel, but I was pleasantly surprised.I became really intrigued by their world and the lives of the characters and overall, really enjoyed this book. My full review is here.

The BFG by Roald Dahl

Read/Unread

Delving back into this world again was lovely. I forget what a genius this man is and then, WHAM. Snozzcumbers. Brilliant stuff.

Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire by JK Rowling.

Read/Unread – currently reading.

I haven’t got very far through this re-read, unfortunately. I began work again and things have been really stressful and tiring, making me not want to read when I go to bed. I’m hoping to continue through this at a slow and steady pace next month.

~~Here are a few others I read this month:

The House at the end of Hope Street by Menna van Praag.

Really enjoyed this one. Picked it off the shelf on a whim after completing a few books from the August TBR because I wanted something different and ended up getting swept away in this mysterious read. My full review is here.

Jane Eyre by Charlotte Bronte.

I read this through the Librivox app whilst driving around this month. It was about tiem I got to this classic. I really loved it! My review is here.

***

And here’s what I’m planning to read in the month of September! I’m keeping my list short and simple – very realistic due to my current schedule. But, once again, I’m really excited about some of the books on my list!

septtbr-16

Six of Crows by Leigh Bardugo.

Heard great things about this one. It’s all over the bookverse, isn’t it?! Even though it is a little chunky, I think I’ll fly through it if it is as fast paced and action packed as everyone says it is.

The Princess Saves Herself In This One: Poetry by Amanda Lovelace.

Another bookverse inspired buy. I haven’t read any poetry in a while, and it’s been even longer since I’ve read modern poetry. But the writing looks beautiful from what I’ve seen and I’m sure I’ll be singing its praises sometime soon!

North and South by Elizabeth Gaskell.

This is another classic I’ve been meaning to get to for a long time. I’ve got about an hours driving per day so I’ll be downloading this from trusty Librivox and seeing what it’s like. I love the most recent adaptation for TV, so I’m expecting good things. I’m in such a classics kick at the moment – long may it last!

And I’ll still be continuing with Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire by JK Rowling.

***

Wish me luck! What are you guys planning on reading this month? Any recs? I’d love to hear if any of you have read the books above 🙂

3 thoughts on “August Wrap-up and September TBR!

Leave a Reply

