Bookish

Summer Reader Book Tag

Here’s the link to the original video! (x)

Summer is officially over (and has been for a while if you live in Scotland) so I thought this would be a nice way to end this book filled season. I wasn’t officially tagged but celinereads opened it up to everyone so I thought ‘why not?’.

summerreadingtag1

Lemonade: pick a book that started off bitter but got better.

The Gracekeepers by Kirsty Logan – it was a bit of a slow starter for me but I ended up really enjoying it. I think it was one of those books where you needed to find out more about the characters and the story before you could really dive in (but that might just be me). Still a great read though!

Golden Sun: pick a book that made you smile beyond compare.

Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell – this is my ultimate contemporary favourite. Every time I picked it up I smile and still do when I reread. Everything about the characters and the plot makes me happy. For me, it’s the go-to book when I feel a little bit down.

Tropical Flowers: pick a book set in a foreign country.

The Golem and the Djinni by Helen Wecker – a bit of a strange one, maybe, but I really enjoyed the descriptions of old time New York. NY is one of those bucket-list places for me – I’ll get there one day! But to be honest, for this one I could have picked any number of books because I haven’t read much that’s set in Scotland (that’s something I’ll need to fix…)

summerreadingtag2

Tree Shade: pick a book in which a mysterious or shady character was first introduced.

Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen – from the moment Wickham crept onto the page I had my guard up. Get up and leave, Wickham. You’re not wanted here.

Beach Sand: pick a book that was grainy, and the plot barely developed.

Uhm, maybe An Abundance of Katherines┬áby John Green. Don’t hate me, but I just didn’t really like that book. I didn’t think it had much oomph to it and will probably never read it again.

Green Grass: pick a character(s) that were full of life, making you smile.

Okay, here’s a couple. I have to include Elsa from My Grandmother… because she’s the character that popped into my head straight away. She’s one of the most fully formed characters I’ve read recently. I love Becky Bloomwood from the Shopaholic series for her enthusiasm alone and Amy Poehler’s Yes Please made me feel so inspired.

summerreadingtag3

Watermelon: pick a book that had some juicy secrets.

Oh, secrets, secrets. Maybe the Hunger Games trilogy. Those were utter page turners and kept me on my toes.

Sun Hat: pick a book that had a vast, big universe/setting.

I’ve just finished a book called The Comet Seekers and that has, literally, a big and vast universe as one of the main components is space. Is that cheating? Anyway, a review for that is coming your way soon.

***

That was fun! Feel free to join the tag – the more the merrier I think!

 

 

Leave a Reply

