Top 5 Wednesday

Top 5 Wednesday: Gateway Books for my Favourite Authors.

T5W was started by Gingerreadslainey and Sam. If you’d like to join in, click here to go to the Goodreads page.

So, I’ll admit it, I kind of changed the category for today. I’m still going along the lines of gateway books but I thought I would mix it up the Gateway Books for my Favourite Authors. I’ve picked a few of my favourite authors, who have written quite a few books, and I’m going to tell you which one I’d got for first. Sometimes it’s hard to know where to begin which an author – this is my advice.

gaiman

Neil Gaiman : Neverwhere or The Graveyard Book

For adults, I’d go for Neverwhere. This is the adult book I’ve enjoyed the most. Neil Gaiman has such a unique writing style, that I feel this would be a good place to start. Lots of enjoyable characters and twists in the plot lines, a great read!

For kids, I’d go with The Graveyard Book. This was the first NG book I read and it holds a nice place in my heart. I really loved the storyline of this book and how he creates his own family.

rowell

Rainbow Rowell : Attachments or Fangirl

I’ll be honest here: this is just my favourites of both RR’s adult and teen fiction. If you’ve ever read or written fanfiction, Fangirl is for you. Attachments is a book that I love but some of my friends “didn’t get” – personally, I enjoy their budding relationship. Either way, RR is fun and quirky and heartfelt, so you can’t really go wrong with starting anywhere, but these are my preferred choices.

others

John Green : Looking for Alaska

I wasn’t sure whether to put TFIOS here, but felt that LFA is such a good introduction to John’s writing that it’d be hard to not read it first. This is the book I read first and was drawn in by the characters, their emotions and the beautiful metaphors.

Jane Austen : Pride and Prejudice

Couldn’t do this list without including awesome Jane. Just go for it and read P&P, why not?! It’s her most well known novel and a good place to start – plus, it’s well known for a reason. Just try not to love Lizzie and Darcy, JUST TRY.

Khaled Hosseini : The Kite Runner

I have loved each of his books, but feel The Kite Runner is so beautiful and heartbreaking, that it’ll set the tone for what all of his books will put you through. I can’t recommend his books enough, and for me, this was a good starting point.

***

I tend to jump around with my books, which is the complete opposite to what my Dad does. If my Dad loves an author, he will immediately, one after the other, read everything they’ve written. I, however, can’t really read the same author one after the other, and have to completely adore an author to read lots of their work. Hence, these 5. I’ve read lots of/all of their work and these are the ones I’d go to first for a flavour of their writing.

As always, this is only my opinion and can be taken with a pinch of salt if you want 🙂

Enjoy the rest of September, guys!

3 thoughts on “Top 5 Wednesday: Gateway Books for my Favourite Authors.

Leave a Reply

