Top 5 Wednesday

Top 5 Wednesday: Books That Took a Long Time to Finish.

t5w-oct5-16

Sometimes you pick up a mammoth sized book and don’t really think about it. Sometimes you think you’ll fly through it and don’t. Sometimes you just start and it takes you a while. Here are some books that, despite my best intentions, it just took me quite a while to read.

The Golem and the Djinni by Helene Wecker

I really enjoyed this book but it’s sheer size made it hard for me to read it quickly. I also decided to read it when I was quite busy, and didn’t have much time to sit down with it. But I felt really good when I got to the end because it was well worth it.

The Shadow of the Wind by Carlos Ruiz Zafron

I put this one of this list because, when I eventually got around to reading it properly it didn’t take me too long at all, but I had quite a few false starts. For some reason, even though this is a brilliant book, I couldn’t get into it on the first few tries. Oh well.

Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire by JK Rowling

This is just from recent experience, because it took me a good six weeks to complete this book during my reread – another one of those ‘should have thought about how busy I was before I started’ reads. But, as with the others, I really enjoyed it.

On Beauty by Zadie Smith

This just took me a while because I didn’t really enjoy it until the end. It’s been a while since I read this but from memory, it took me a while. I also remember being quite frustrated with the characters in this book.

I Capture the Castle by Dodie Smith

Just a really big book. I loved it, but it’s really big. And it’s a Children’s classic so, as a child,  I don’t think I would have attempted it. But as an adult, I really liked it.

***

Yay big books! But also you gotta think about how much time you’re going to have when you pick them up, right? What big books have you read and struggled with but ended up loving?

Leave a Reply

