Top Ten Tuesdays

Top 10 Tuesday: Books I’ve Been Recommended.

This meme was started over on The Broke and the Bookish – go join!

I love when people recommend books to me! That means we’ve been having a bookish conversation and those, in my opinion, are the best type of conversations. I love hearing about other people’s favourite books, about books they’ve loved or hated. I will always take their recommendations into consideration when I’m next in a bookshop. As such, I’ve acquired quite a few books because of other people – be that my best friends, or acquaintances, or book bloggers and vloggers – and I’m gonna share my top 10 choices with you today. Let’s go!

Recs from Best Friends

ttt-oct11-16-1

Harry Potter Series by JK Rowling

Okay, so I’ve probably said before that I read the first few books and then gave up when I was a child. If it hadn’t been for a friend (new then, had only met that day) being shocked and urging me to get back into the series, I probably woudn’t have. Reading that series was such a joy, I would have really missed out otherwise.

The Kite Runner by Khaled Hosseini

That same friend recommended me this read, and I’ve read all of his other works since. He’s a brilliant author and I might have missed his writing if not for the summer of 2012. My friend and I wrote each other a list of our 20 favourite books and swapped over the summer. That was a brilliant summer and I’ve never quite managed to top reading so much great books at the same time since.

Yes Please by Amy Poehler

I met a girl from America in my first year of University and we’ve been best friends ever since. We bonded over our love of Parks and Rec and she urged me to read this book and also Tina Fey’s Bossypants. Two of my most favourite non-fiction reads!

The Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern

I’m counting my Dad in this category, and I owe much of my love of books to him. I remember him telling me about this book he thought I might like… it’s now one of my ultimate favourites. So thanks, Dad!

Recs from Teachers

ttt-oct11-16-2

The Book Thief by Markus Zusak

Another one of my ultimate favourites and I heard about it from my Higher English teacher. She waxed lyrical about how brilliant this read was and she wasn’t wrong.

One Day by David Nicholls

The same teacher was having a conversation with a classmate about this book. They actually ended up spoiling this book but I still wanted to read it: I did and didn’t regret it for a second.

Extremely Loud and Incredibly Close by Jonathon Safran Foer

That same year my English class was taught by two teachers, the other teacher recommended this one to me. This is another author that, after reading this book, I ate up all of his other works. I’m so excited for his new novel, Here I Am.

Atonement by Ian McEwan

I did this for my Higher English Personal Study paper and loved it. Another rec from that fab teacher. I tell you, teachers recommend the best books!

Recs from the Bookish Blogverse

ttt-oct11-16-3

Eleanor and Park by Rainbow Rowell

I would not have known who Rainbow Rowell was without the bookverse on Youtube going crazy over this book. I wish I could remember whose videos inspired me to go out and buy this book but I can’t. Either way, I devoured this book and all of her others and now consider her my favourite contemporary novelist.

And currently: Six of Crows by Leigh Bardugo

My current read, totally recommended by the bookverse and I’M LOVING IT. Just as everyone said I would.

***

Plus many many more – too many to mention! I hardly ever go into a bookshop and just pick up a book; there is almost always some type of recommendation feeding my choice of book and I love that. I like to think that everyone, all the readers in the world, are helping each other seek out new wonderful reads together, all through just a few comments. ­čÖé

What have you recommended others? What would you recommend me? I’d love to know!

 

 

3 thoughts on “Top 10 Tuesday: Books I’ve Been Recommended.

  1. I’m like you all the books I buy have been recommended to me or are super popular but that’s basically the whole internet recommending it. I’m glad your liking Six of Crows it’s one of my favorite books that I’ve read this year.

    Liked by 1 person

      1. I feel the same way I read Six of Crows only two weeks ago and I almost got another book from the library instead so glad I didn’t. Sadly I haven’t read Crooked Kingdom yet because I have no money but I plan on getting it sometime this month.

        Like

Leave a Reply

