Reviews

Review: Crooked Kingdom by Leigh Bardugo (Six of Crows #2)

My review of Six of Crows is here, if you’re interested!

Everybody breathe. Don’t worry – for those of you that have yet to read this glorious book, this review is SPOILER FREE. I repeat, SPOILER FREE. So read on, and I hope you are encouraged to read this book.

*Sidenote: I just finished this book mere hours ago so if I gush just a little too much, this is why. 

crookedkingdom

Spoiler Free Review

Title: Crooked Kingdom (sequel to Six of Crows)

Author: Leigh Bardugo

Published: Hodder and Stoughton, 2016

Pages: 536

Some links: Goodreads and Amazon

***

Days ago, this team of six managed to pull off the impossible. Now, they are tasked with even more problems than they had to begin with. Gathering enemies around every corner and one of their own in turmoil, the team must stay strong and fight for what is right and just in a city where those terms don’t mean much.

***

Well, well. I’ll freely admit that I am always, ALWAYS, worried about sequels. Always. I worry that the right balance won’t be struck. I worry that the characters will somehow be changed. I worry that everything I loved about the original book – because I don’t venture into a sequel unless I loved the first book – will be spoiled by this book and that I won’t remember why I loved the start of this series in the first place. There have been quite a few series that have gone down this path for me, so I’m always wary. However, I am happy to report that this book did not disappoint. In the slightest!

This book was just as fast paced and action packed as the first. There were so many moments when I, like some of the other characters in the book, had no clue how Kaz and his team were going to get out of these situations. But I definitely think that’s part of the fun – part of the draw – for this series. We focussed more on Ketterdam in this book, and I really enjoyed finding out more about this city and all it’s ugly, demanding parts.

The characters were still the same ones I’d loved in the first book. They stayed true to their personalities and had the same drive that powered them originally. We got to know some of the characters a little more intimately, and see them grow and change – which was lovely. Don’t get me wrong, they were the same dastardly, morally corrupt folks that we grew to love originally, but you fought with them and rooted for them throughout. To me, they felt more like friends in this book, probably because I knew them well and wanted them to succeed.

I can’t finish this review without alluding to the relationships that were being forged in Six of Crows. No matter what you think by the end, you can’t deny that Bardugo managed to create lovely relationships – ships you fought for and loved dearly (ship ship ship!) – and I didn’t feel like I had been cheated of any special moments.

Ultimately, this was a fitting ending to a jam packed duo-logy. I haven’t read a duo-logy before but I really enjoyed this concept. Sometimes I feel like trilogies are too drawn out but this was perfect for me. Everything was tied up nicely and there were no parts left unsaid or uncompleted. It was such a satisfying end to a wonderful story full of complex characters!

My Rating: 4.7 out of 5 stars!

I really wanted to give this book absolutely 5 stars, but there was one particular part of the book which I won’t mention that disappointed me. But I think that’s just me naively wanting everything to be perfect. I went back and forth, because of this, wondering if I should just give 5 stars but no. I’m going to stick with the 4.7. It was utterly perfect, with just one exception.

***

Honestly, read this duo-logy. You won’t be disappointed. It was one of those series that everyone said was good and I was a bit unsure – how could everyone enjoy a book? That never happens! But seriously, they’re all right. It’s different, it’s complex, it’s fun, it’s engaging. It’s just good – and a plus, it’s finished so there’s no waiting for the next part – YAY.

What did you think? Did you think this was a fitting ending? Let me know below!

7 thoughts on “Review: Crooked Kingdom by Leigh Bardugo (Six of Crows #2)

Leave a Reply

