Top 5 Wednesday

Top 5 Wednesday: Freaky and Creepy Settings.

T5W was started by Gingerreadslainey and Sam. If you’d like to join in, click here to go to the Goodreads page.

***

We are only five days away from Halloween so I think we need something freaky and creepy. I’ll admit, I don’t really go in for Halloween – I didn’t see the appeal when I was younger (cough-Iwasterrified-cough) and I still don’t. But that doesn’t mean I don’t appreciate a good scary setting. These five settings set my teeth on edge:

t5w-oct26-16

Thornfield Hall in Jane Eyre by Charlotte Bronte

Talk about a creepy, daunting place to live. You can tell straight away from Bronte’s descriptions. I would have taken one look at the place and fled.

*my review of Jane Eyre is here.

The Forbidden Forest in Harry Potter by JK Rowling

Woods at night-time? Not for me. And when someone’s told me not to go there? Double not for me. I clearly don’t have a very rebellious side.

The Chokey in Matilda by Roald Dahl

I still remember the chill that crawled up my spine the first time I watched Matilda as a child and saw what The Chokey was really like. Man, that Trunchbull. She was mean and her revenge was scary.

The Room in Room by Emma Donoghue

What a heartbreaking novel. Knowing the story, there’s no way I’d ever step back into that room.

The Black Veil in Crooked Kingdom by Leigh Bardugo

Ghosts? No thank you. Plague? No thank you. Why would you go to a place like this? I know, they had good circumstances. But I would have left the gang rather than stayed in a place like that. Shivers.

*review for Six of Crows / review of Crooked Kingdom*

*steps away carefully* Okay, now that I’ve sufficiently scared myself, I’ll be off. See you next week for another T5W *runs off*

 

5 thoughts on “Top 5 Wednesday: Freaky and Creepy Settings.

Leave a Reply

