Bookish · What's Cooking?

Bookish Inspirations: The Great British Bake Off

The Great British Bake Off is over for another series and my heart is sad! I have loved watching this show from the very beginning and due to recent events, who knows if there will even be another series – at least one up to the same standard as what we’ve been used to? WHO KNOWS? So, to quell my need (and yours) for some quality baking, here are my bookish choices which include something sweet. I’ve also included some recipes which you could try if you fancy jumping into the kitchen:

***

gbbo-1

The Particular Sadness of Lemon Cake by Aimee Bender: Recipe for Lemon Cake

I read this book a few years ago and was drawn in by its unique concept: the main character can taste the feelings of the person who has made it. So different, so new, and such a gem of a book. It’s really different, so I’d recommend it if you’re looking for something inventive!

Breakfast at Tiffany’s by Truman Capote: Recipe for Chocolate Croissants

After reading this book or watching this film, doesn’t everyone want to visit New York one day, get up really early and have some coffee in front of Tiffany’s? I think it would be one of those surreal moments. Even though I’d probably be drinking tea, I’d definitely be eating some sort of pastry – maybe a chocolate croissant? Why not try the recipe above?

Meet Me at the Cupcake Cafe by Jenny Colgan: Recipe for White Chocolate and Raspberry Cupcakes

I read this book when I was in a bit of a reading slump and needed a sugary contemporary book. A palette cleanser, you know what I mean? I enjoyed this book – it was exactly what I needed at that moment in time. The winning point of this book however, is surprisingly not the plot or the characters: it’s the fact that it has a recipe for a cupcake at the beginning of each chapter – WIN. I’d reread this book again just to give them a go!

*Guys, I’ve actually made these cupcakes and they’re really good. 

gbbo-2

Matilda by Roald Dahl: Recipe for Chocolate Cake

I couldn’t leave out this children’s classic, especially when one of the first things you remember about this book or its movie companion is the chocolate cake scene. It gets me every time! I’m not a big fan of chocolate cake – sometimes it;s too sweet or too dry, but there’s a recipe above for it anyway. Don’t eat it all at once!

May Contain Nuts by John Farrell: Recipe for Peanut Butter Cookies (CONTAINS NUTS).

Okay, so I don’t even think this book contains any mention of baking at all. However, I had to include it for two reasons: one, the title has something to do with food and two, it’s so hilarious! I didn’t stop laughing when reading this book – seriously! And it also gives some very valid pointers of what not to do when you become a parent.

The House at the End of Hope Street by Menna van Praag: Recipe for Jam Biscuits

There is a character in this book that constantly bakes to avoid life’s problems – a very good solution if I do say so myself. I couldn’t end this list without adding a biscuit recipe as that’s my reading fave: tea and a biscuit.

*read my full review of this book here.

And I couldn’t forget an actual recipe book: Twist by Martha Collison

I’ve attempted a few of the recipes in this book so far and have enjoyed them all! I wanted to include this particular book because she was a former GBBO contestant, so this made sense. I’ve made a review of sorts, of this recipe book and you can see it here.

***

There we have it! I hope you can use this list to help you through the coming months of no Bake Off greatness and it maybe inspires you to get into the baking spirit in these Autumn months. Are there any other books you’ve enjoyed that include food/baking? Let me know below!

2 thoughts on “Bookish Inspirations: The Great British Bake Off

Leave a Reply

