Reviews

Review: Bloom – Navigating Life and Style by Estee Lalonde

Something a little bit different for me – I don’t usually read non-fiction books, and a lot less frequently do I read a lifestyle book. Here are my thoughts…

bloomestee

Title: Bloom – Navigating Life and Style

Author: Estee Lalonde

Published: Ebury, 2016

Pages: 255

Some links: Goodreads and Amazon

***

So I ended up buying this book amongst a quite big Amazon Haul. I had kind of forgotten I had ordered it, so it was a nice surprise to see it when I picked up my packages from the post office that day. I have followed Estee Lalonde on her Youtube channel on and off for a while now and have enjoyed her videos. I think – if I remember correctly – I was looking for something a little bit different to read. I had settled into a fantasy groove and fancied something different. When this came up on Amazon, I thought ‘Why not?’. And now we’re here.

I wasn’t exactly sure what to expect from this book. Being a novice on this genre – lifestyle and style in general isn’t something I’ve ever really read about before and isn’t that big an interest of mine – I didn’t know what the format would be like, what the content would be. So I went into this read with a blank mind, not wanting to really be influenced by anything and just wanting to see how I felt about it.

Having finished this book this morning, I can’t really say how I felt about it. I’m still deciding (maybe I should be writing this review a little later on, after I’ve made a proper decision haha!). I didn’t love it but I didn’t dislike it. It was a quick read, very easy to step into and covered a real range of topics – some of more interest to me than others. It held my attention and gave me something to read when I couldn’t sleep last night. It was good, but I’m not going to gush about it like I might if I was talking about other biographical books I’ve read.

Don’t get me wrong, there were parts that I liked. I enjoyed how conversational this book was. I felt like I was sitting down to one of her videos and she was just chatting to me about her life and what she enjoys. It felt like a chat over tea – there was a few laughs, some deep topics, a bit of a bounce between topics and some things she came back to again and again. And because it felt like a conversation, I think that made the topics she was talking about more relatable – and they are relatable. She was talking about things everyone has gone through at some point. Sure, everyone’s experiences are different my life has some sameness. I could relate a lot to the parts where she talked of feeling anxious, to the parts where she described her relationships with family etc.

I also enjoyed hearing about her love of travelling, as that is a bug I have recently caught. I liked hearing about the places she’d been to, the food she’d eaten etc. I was interested in her feelings of moving to a new country and acclimatising to the different ways of life. To me, it felt like lots of blog posts stitched together to make a book about her life right now. I suppose that’s her forte – being a brilliant blogger and Youtuber – and it worked for her.

There were some bits that I just couldn’t settle into though. For me, I wasn’t too interested in some of the topics like fashion and make-up. Those just aren’t that interesting to me but I’m sure people who enjoy that sort of thing would like those parts. I didn’t really feel that much fluidity in this book either – there was quite a lot of repetition and mentioning things she’d already said. It made the book feel like a jigsaw that didn’t quite fit together. Maybe that was the point of sectioning the book into topics but it didn’t work for me as a reader. And the final nail in the coffin was that it was quite badly edited. There were so many grammatical errors and some parts I had to read four times over to made sense of the sentence – it just shouldn’t be that hard.

My Rating – 3 out of 5 stars.

There were parts I liked and I enjoyed hearing more about the person behind the small Youtube screen but I left this book feeling a little bit meh. I’ll still be a fan of her videos, though – I think I enjoy that medium better.

*Click here for Estee’s main channel and here for her vlog channel.

Have you read this book? What were your thoughts? And any other lifestyle-esque book recs? I’d love to know.

 

One thought on “Review: Bloom – Navigating Life and Style by Estee Lalonde

Leave a Reply

