Top 5 Wednesday

Top 5 Wednesday: Characters I Used to Love

What an interesting topic this week – it really got me thinking! I fall in love with lots of characters and most of them stay my favourites. However, there are a few which I love for a while but that love just peters away. These are those characters:

t5w-nov9-16

Hazel and Augustus from The Fault In Our Stars by John Green

Okay, so I should probably duck from all the things that are being thrown at me right now. I’ll clear this choice up right away: I REALLY LOVE THIS BOOK. Okay, I really do. I read it when it first came out, in a kind of John Green haze, and it won my heart immediately. I’ve reread it a few times and it still gets me. However, I realised a while back that these two don’t even feature on my top bookish couples anymore. The issue here is that even though I realy love these two, I love other couples more. (So please don’t kill me).

Alice from The Twilight Series by Stephenie Meyer

In my Twilight phase I would have sworn that Alice was possible my favourite literary character. I was in that deep. It’s been years now, however, since I read the series and I don’t even think about them much anymore. The hype has gone and to be completely honest, I cringe a little to think about the past.

Daisy Buchanan from The Great Gatsby by F Scott Fitzgerald

This was a slow burn for vague dislike. The more I reread, the more I just find Daisy frustrating and I can’t get away from that now. I will always believe that The Great Gatsby is a brilliant book and I always enjoy going back to it, but Daisy isn’t a character I particularly enjoy anymore.

Mrs Dalloway from Mrs Dalloway by Virginia Woolf

Another of those ones where I really liked it and then one day, I woke up and I just didn’t care as much. As I read more books – and a bigger variety of books – my tastes broaden. And that’s a good thing. But it does mean that some characters get left behind and this is one of them.

***

So there weren’t as many as I thought, haha! And this is a very controversial list actually. But I’ve got to be honest! The majority of characters I grow to love, I still love today which is nice. What about you guys – any characters you just aren’t feeling anymore?

3 thoughts on “Top 5 Wednesday: Characters I Used to Love

  1. Augustus was one on my list. I completely agree with you. I still love their relationship and the book just not as much as I love other couples and books! Tris from Divergent is also one I don’t love as much anymore. She kind of bugs me. I also don’t love Chaol like I used to because of that mood he went through and Tamlin I now despise for obvious reasons!

    Liked by 1 person

      1. Yes, it think as we change we find new characters to become attached to and only the ones that we are really close to from our past are the ones we continue to love.

        Like

Leave a Reply

