Reviews

Review: Obsidian by Jennifer L Armentrout.

So remember my #currentlyreading post last week? Well, I think it well and truly kicked my butt. I wrote it, posted it and then just got a little bit angry at myself for falling into a slump. So I thought to myself – what are you going to read to get yourself out of this slump? And my mind said: something incredibly easy. Hence this rather different choice for me.

obsidian1

Spoiler Free Review

Title: Obsidian (Lux 1)

Author: Jennifer L Armentrout

Published: Hodder Paperbacks, 2014.

Pages: 384

Some links: Goodreads and Amazon

***

Katy and her mother have packed up and moved somewhere new, hoping for an easy new start. Things are going well until Katy meets their next door neighbour Daemon. Infruriating as he is, Katy can’t help but be attracted to him. However, there’s something just a little strange going on with him and his family, and Katy can’t quite put her finger on it.

***

Well, this is a very different choice for me. I wanted something that didn’t require too much thinking and this was the book I chose. I had heard about this series a little through the booktube community but hadn’t been that interested. However, when you need something mindless and it’s half price on Google Play, that doesn’t seem to matter that much.

Let’s start with the plot. Now, I’ll begin by saying that I knew how close this book’s plot was to Twilight, but I was still surprised just how close it was. It was incredibly similar! So similar I’m actually quite surprised they were able to publish it. It was, however, exactly what I needed at the time. It was fast paced, really easy to read and kept my attention well enough. I wanted Katy to find out more about the family to see how she would react. I wanted to understand more about the supernatural worlds Armentrout created – to be honest, I wanted to see if it was alternative to the rest. A lot of YA supernatural trilogies follow the same pattern, but at least this was a little different. I found quite a lot of the plot a little far-fetched and obvious, but I think that’s part of the charm of this book.

The characters felt very close to their Twilight counterparts, but I had kind of expected that. I enjoyed parts of the character of Katy, as I could relate to a lot of her interests aka. book blogging (and wish this was focused on a little more as it’s an interesting part of her character). She became a little less interesting as her character veered into the “oh, that boy is so hot but he’s so hot and cold with me” phase – but she did redeem herself a little at the end. Daemon, however, didn’t really capture my interest. I just found him to be quite rude and self obsessed and arrogant. Some YA love interests are this way but it comes off as charming – I expect this is what the author was going for here, but it didn’t hit the mark for me. I also didn’t really like the angle he had of expecting Katy to fall at his feet. No, thank you. But like I said, she redeemed herself a little in the end.

My Rating: 3 out of 5 stars.

I mean, it wasn’t bad but it wasn’t great. It’s not something I’ll read again and I’m not even sure I’ll continue the series. However, it did get me out of my slump, so it’s not all bad.

Have you read this book? Does it get better as the series continues? Let me know 🙂

4 thoughts on “Review: Obsidian by Jennifer L Armentrout.

Leave a Reply

