Top Ten Tuesdays

Top 10 Tuesday: New-to-Me Authors of 2016.

This week’s TTT was such a good one! There have been quite a few new authors on my reading lists this year, so I went through my Goodreads Challenge to see what’s what and I’ve put them down below.

ttt-dec6-16

Cathrynne M Valente

  • The Girl who Circumnavigated Fairyland in a Ship of Her Own Making (1)
  • The Girl who Fell Beneath Fairyland and Led the Revels There (2)
  • The Girl who Soared Over¬†Fairyland and Cut the Moon in Two (3)

Such a good series and a really gifted writer – her descriptions are everything. What a wonderful world she has created in these books!

Leigh Bardugo

  • Six of Crows (1)Review
  • Crooked Kingdom (2)Review

I can’t believe I waited so long to read some of Leigh’s stuff, and what a way to begin! These books are some of my favourites now.

Louisa May Alcott

  • Little Women

I had always meant to read this book, and now I’m glad I have. I realy enjoyed it!

Helen Wecker

  • The Golem and the Djinni (1 – but can be read as standalone)

Wow! What a book! It’s maybe my favourite of the year. I picked it up having never heard of it before or heard of the author – if you’re the same, you’re in for a treat!

Fredrik Backman

  • My Grandmother Sends Her Regards and ApologisesReview

Okay, I’m not going to talk about this book because I do it too often. But it’s good.

Helen Sedgwick

  • The Comet SeekersReview

A debut novel from a great new writer! I was curious about this, ended up going to a reading event about it, and really enjoyed it!

L M Montgomery

  • Anne of Green Gables (1) – Review

So, so glad I read this. I’ll be reading the others soon, no doubt!

Elizabeth Gaskell

A favourite TV adaptation turned lovely reading experience!

V E Schwab

  • A Darker Shade of Magic (1) – Review

A really good book – it has great characters, lovely world building and an excellent plot. What more could you want?

***

There we go – some great authors I’ve enjoyed this year that I hadn’t read before. There are a fair few on this list that I’ll be going to again for other novels! Who have you found this year – any recs?

One thought on “Top 10 Tuesday: New-to-Me Authors of 2016.

Leave a Reply

