Top 5 Wednesday

T5W: Series That Went from Good to Bad.

Sometimes you start a trilogy and then it just doesn’t pan out, in the other books, the way you wanted it to. Sometimes you start a TV show, it becomes your favourite and then it just drags out too long. Here are some series’ that I think were good, but just aren’t anymore. (As always, this is only my opinion!)

t5w-dec14-16-1

Daughter of Smoke and Bone Trilogy by Laini Taylor

This trilogy popped into my head the second I read today’s theme. I loved, loved, loved the first book. Such an original idea, a wonderful lifelike world and strong characters – I couldn’t wait to read the rest. The second book I clung onto even though I felt it wasn’t as good as the first because I hoped for a brilliant ending. Sadly, I didn’t feel the last book did the series justice. There were too many POVs (some of which I was barely interested in) and I think it’s a great shame. Still recommend the first book though, if you can bare not continuing a series.

The Shopaholic Series by Sophie Kinsella

I will maintain that books 1, 2, 3, and 5 (because 4 for iffy for me) are awesome! I often dip in and out of these books for a blast of fluff and hilarity and then go about my day. I find Becky to be such a funny character and I love the chaos she creates. However, I’m pretty sure Kinsella is still writing this series and… you know, there’s a time to just put down a character and say, “there, that’s your story complete”.

The Lux Series by Jennifer L Artmentrout

Okay, so I caved and continued the series because they are so flipping easy to read and I was a little curious (see my review of Obsidian here – and ignore the comments of ‘I probably won’t continue this series‘, blah, blah… oops). And yeah, I was interested in the story line for a while but now, heading into the last book, I’m a little… blah. I’m kind of underwhelmed.

t5w-dec14-16-2

Once Upon a Time (TV Series: still ongoing)

Ah, TV. I love TV. I loved this show. Here’s my advice if you haven’t watched this show yet. Get through Season 1 – it’s there for a reason and you’ll meet a multitude of characters. Suffer through Season 2. Dance for joy when Season 3 and 4 come around (these were my favourites). And then maybe stop. Because this, like a lot of shows, just started to drag too long for me and I don’t even watch it any more. There’s only so many times someone evil can come and destroy your town, guys. If I was to start up watching it again it would only be for Hook & Emma.

The Big Bang Theory (TV Series: still ongoing)

Another one of those ‘loved it at the beginning but please stop soon because you’ll lose the magic!’. And there isn’t anything worse than seeing a show you really liked go down the drain.

*to be honest, I could probably list quite a few shows that were really good at the beginning but as they racked up season after season, I felt the quality started to diminish. This is something I think British TV excels in – we give just enough episodes for people to enjoy and not get bored.

***

What series do you wish had kept the magic for longer? This is such an interesting topic, too! See you next week!

3 thoughts on “T5W: Series That Went from Good to Bad.

  1. I had the same thoughts about DoSaB, although I read the series a long time ago. I still watch OUAT but I agree it has really gone up and down over the years, I’m hoping this season picks up though. Season 3 and 4 really were amazing and I rewatch those a lot! The Divergent series is another one that went down the drain for me which is a shame. British TV is the best but they need to know when it’s okay to give us episodes as well! I’ve been waiting 3 years for 3 more episodes of Sherlock!!! And 3 episodes isn’t too much to ask!! January though the wait is over!!!!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

