Bookish

2016: My Top 5 Reads.

I can’t quite believe it’s the end of 2016. I remember right at the beginning thinking about what my life would be like, and now the year is over. What a wild ride it’s been! At the beginning, a book blog/bookstagram was just a little idea and now it’s a real thing and I’m enjoying it massively! So thank you, bookverse, for being so lovely this year. Bring on 2017!

But before we look forward, let’s look back: I’ve read almost 50 books this year, which I’m really proud of considering my goal was 40 – Goodreads Page Here. It’s been a mixed bag, but here’s my top 5. I would recommend all of these to you, if you haven’t picked them up yet!

*in no particular order, because that would be too hard!*

top5-2016

The Golem and the Djinni by Helene Wecker

I read this book nearer the beginning of this year, hence no review. It’s a brilliant book, spanning continents and looking back in time. It features two brilliantly formed characters who are dealing with feeling out of place in the world they’ve entered. It’s a chunk of a book but definitely worth every page.

Anne of Green Gables by LM MontgomeryReview

I’ve loved all the Children’s Classics I’ve read this year but this is is undoubtedly my favourite. The main character is strong, fierce and hilarious! It is the quintessential kid’s classic with all of the right components, but that’s one of the reasons I liked it so much! I also read this with my Librivox app and the woman who read it really brought Anne to life. Check out the review for more info.

Six of Crows by Leigh BardugoReview

This was one of those books which you just know you’ll love, and I was completely right. Both this book and it’s sequel were brilliant and definitely hit my favourite YA books list. Fab characters, fast and driven plot and a splash of the underdog – a great combination. If you’re hiding under a rock like I was and haven’t read this yet, you must!

Jane Eyre by Charlotte BronteReview

I think this is my favourite classic I’ve read this year. I’ve always loved the adaptations and my love translated over to the book very well. It is dark and mysterious, quite gothic, but I loved all of that. It also features a main character who is ahead of her time, which always makes for an interesting read.

My Grandmother Sends Her Regards and Apologises by Fredrik BackmanReview

I don’t know what else I can say about this book that I haven’t already said, because I gush about this book all the time. So I’ll just say, go and read my review. If I was to pick an ultimate favourite from this list, this book would be it.

***

My love for these books is boundless – these are definitely on my favourites list! Whatever mood you’re in during the next year, pick up one of these books and you’ll learn and love something from them.

All the bookish best for the year ahead – it can only get better!

 

3 thoughts on “2016: My Top 5 Reads.

Leave a Reply

