Top 5 Wednesday

T5W: 2017 Reading Goals.

T5W was started by Gingerreadslainey and Sam. If you’d like to join in, click here to go to the Goodreads page.

***

bookpile

I love a good goal. I enjoy making goals at the beginning of a year and I think it makes my year a little bit more purposeful, if I keep to them (which is always hard!). But in an effort to be a little more organised, here are five goals I hope to complete in this new year.

Be kinder to myself, reading-wise.

Ever since I started this blog, I’ve been trying to keep to a reading schedule. It helps for posting reviews, it helps for TBRs and Wrap Ups, and it just helps motivate me to read more in general. But sometimes, if I’m just not in the mood to read or have too much life to do, I can get a little anxious. Goal: to remember that reading is a passion, not a job, and that I only have to read at my own pace.

Read from a bigger variety of genres.

I thought I had quite a wide range on genres on my shelf, but there are so many I want to read from. I want to read more historical fiction – from varying periods of time, I want to read novels exploring a variety of cultures, I want to read more children’s classics. I want to read thoughtfully and widely.

Work on my photography skills for Bookstagram.

I love taking pictures for my bookish instagram account. I don’t post every day, but I really enjoy posting any pictures I’ve taken and talking to you guys about them. I’d like to explore photography more in the next year and see how my skills improve.

Sort out my Goodreads page.

I love Goodreads and I think it does a really good job of keeping reading on track and helping us achieve out bookish goals. I mainly use it for the book tracker, but I’d like to expand to using more of the other lists. I’d like to reorganise my favourites list, and keep a list for books I want to buy. Nothing worse than finally having some pennies and not being able to remember that book you really wanted.

Keep reading what I want to read.

I think there can often be pressure on a book blogger to read things that will make a good review, and that are very hyped. But I’ll openly admit that sometimes, I don’t want to read those books. Sometimes the hype puts me off. So I want to continue to read books I am excited about, regardless of whether it’ll get lots of likes or not.

***

What goals do you have for this year? Are you excited about the bookish year ahead? I hope this year is successful for you all!

Leave a Reply

