Reviews

Review: Talking as Fast as I Can by Lauren Graham.

Woohoo, first review of the new year! Let’s get into it!

talkingasfastasican

Spoiler Free Review

Title: Talking as Fast as I Can 

Authors: Lauren Graham

Published: Virago, 2016

Pages: 205

Some links: Goodreads and Amazon

***

Most of the world went mad when the new episodes of Gilmore Girls were announced: I was definitely in that crowd. I hadn’t watched the show from its outset – I don’t even think it would have been around on British TV at that time, but my Gilmore Girls journey started in 2011 and after the first episode, I was hooked. I loved the characters (wacky and wonderful), I loved the plotlines (truthful, hilarious and heartbreaking), I loved it all (excepting that horrible last season, but that’s a whole other post).

So when it was also said that Lauren Graham of Lorelei was publishing a book of essays highlighting her thoughts on life, love and Gilmore Girls, well… I went and preordered my copy straight away. I didn’t read it straight away, however. I wanted to mull over the new episodes for a while first. Needless to say, the mulling time is over and what a great book to start off 2017 with!

Though this book is relatively small, Lauren manages to pack a punch and move through subjects she’s passionate about at a quick pace. It was interesting to hear more about her childhood, her love of acting and the struggles of becoming an actual actor. My two favourite plot points however, were her Gilmore Girls reflections and her stories about writing. I felt these were the two that spoke to me in this volume, because these are two subjects I’m really interested in. I especially enjoyed the part where she watched the first 7 seasons over and gave us a little commentary of each, including little unknown snippets from behind the scenes. Additionally, I find it always interesting to read about how writers write, and the snippet of advice from Don Roos – called the Kitchen Timer way of Writing – was really insightful.

Lauren’s voice shines through this book – it feels exactly as if she was speaking these words on a talk show. It feels really authentic. She throws in little jokes a mile a minute – some of which work and some which I found a little repetitive – and powers through her essays very quickly. I couldn’t quite work out if that was deliberate (because of the fast paced dialogue on GG) or whether that’s just the way she writes. I found the fast pace okay to keep up with, but it might not be for everyone.

Overall, this book was a nice beginning to a reading year. I wasn’t wanting anything too heavy, and this fitted the bill. It didn’t blow me away or leave me reeling, as some memoirs and biographies can, but I don’t think that was the premise for this book. I think it was an opportunity for Lauren Graham to share a little bit of what her GG journey and life was like, and that’s exactly what it does.

My Rating: 3.7 out of 5 stars.

I liked it, it made me laugh some, and the GG stories were lovely. I was perfectly pleased with it, but not quite enough to give it a full 4 stars. I know you shouldn’t compare it to other novels, but I’ve read some other TV-ish memoirs that I thought were a bit better.

If you’re a GG fan, definitely give this a go!

*also, for more Gilmore Girls, check out my Bookish Inspirations: Gilmore Girls post!*

 

One thought on “Review: Talking as Fast as I Can by Lauren Graham.

Leave a Reply

