Top Ten Tuesdays

Top 10 Tuesday: Best Underrated Books

This weekly meme is from The Broke and The Bookish – go say hello and join the fun!

***

Okay, so I’m going to preface my list by stating two things: one, I am now going to reach 10 books on this list, because I tend to love books that other people love, and a lot of my reading comes from good recommendations (I’m lucky to say); and two, I believe these books are underrated because I haven’t heard many people talking about them in the bookish community. However, I might just be looking in the wrong places, so as always, this is only my own humble opinion.

And now that’s out of the way, here are a few books that I think are underrated. More people should read and enjoy them!

ttt-jan17-17

The Versions of Us by Laura Barnett

I don’t think I’ve ever heard anyone talk about this book, but it was one of those books they were raving about in Waterstones when I purchased my copy, so some people must like it. I was sold on the premise that it was similar to One Day by David Nicholls, which I loved. I very enjoyable read as long as you can keep up with the changes in narrative and time.

Ready Player One by Ernest Cline

Okay, so this book is not really underrated. Everyone I’ve heard speak about this book has loved it, but I feel like it’s been forgotten about for a while. The love needs to come back! This is a book I definitely want to reread again soon!

Neverwhere by Neil Gaiman

One of my favourite Gaiman books, but I feel it’s often overshadowed by Gaiman’s other fantastic works – because there are so many good ones to choose from. This one holds a special place in my heart because it was one of the first novels I read from Gaiman that was classed as ‘adult’. Definitely an enjoyable read, especially if you like his other works.

The Girl of Ink and Stars by Kiran Millwood Hargrave

I really enjoyed this book when I read it, and kind of expected it to blow up and become one of those classic, ‘everyone must read’ middle grade novels. But no such luck (at least from what I can see). It really is beautifully written, has a fantastic set of real, emotional and flawed characters, and follows a mythical, tribal, folk tale story.

Why We Broke Up by Daniel Handler

I really enjoyed this book. I read it a fair few years ago now, but it still catches my eye on my bookshelf from time to time and reminds me of how much I enjoyed it. Admittedly, I did read it in a short lived teenage angsty phase, which maybe gave it some of it’s charm, but it was a good read either way. Plus, fab illustrations!

The Lover’s Dictionary by David Levithan

Love, love, LOVE this book and it doesn’t have enough of a following. There’s something about this book that keeps it on my favourites list year after year. I love the quirky format, I love the revealing nature of the story. I just… I just love it.

The Collected Works of AJ Fikry by Gabrielle Zevin

There is always a time and place for a book about books, am I right? And if you haven’t read this one, you must! It is sweet and touching and all round goodness, and I want more people to see it for the lovely book it is.

***

So there’s my personal list of underrated books. Making this list has made me want to go back and read all of them again, so there’s more books to go on my reread pile for sure! What’s that one book that you wish other people would read and love as you do? We all have at least one!

One thought on “Top 10 Tuesday: Best Underrated Books

  1. I absolutely love David Levithan so I’m going to have to pick this book up. Great post! Also, Ready Player One is good enough that it’s totally acceptable to call it an underrated book. 😉

    – E

    Like

Leave a Reply

