Reviews

Review: The Singalong Society for Singletons by Katey Lovell

A different choice from my usual books and something that wasn’t on my TBR, but it’s been read anyway. Here’s what I thought of this chick-lit:

singalongsocietyreview

Spoiler Free Review

Title: The Singalong Society for Singletons 

Authors: Katey Lovell

Published: Harper Impulse, 2016

Pages: 340

Some links: Goodreads and Amazon

***

Mon and Issy are teachers who need some respite from their grueling careers – enter Friday Night Singalong sessions. Both fans of musical theatre, they create a rag-tag team of individuals who come along for food, movies and songs each week. New friendships are formed, new relationships budding, but for Mon, a real and troublesome decision must be made.

***

Okay, so I want to start by saying that I am a sucker – a real, honest sucker – for deals on GooglePlay. Sometimes I’ll go on to browse the deals even when I’m not looking for anything at all – and I almost always leave with another book on my tablet. It’s not good but it happens, and I’ve got some really good deals from this. Let me tell you, the New Years sale they were running was really good, I got caught up in the prices and this book fell into my basket. I had never heard of this book or author before, but I still bought it. Here’s why.

  • I am always intrigued by books which have a school-related theme. That’s my job; I live that environment every day of my life. I’m always curious to see how a teach is portrayed, and in this book there are quite a few characters who work in a school setting.
  • I used to LOVE chick lit. Part of me still does, although now my horizons have been broadened by other genres I like better. But seven, eight years ago, chick lit was my jam and I still think it has merit as a genre. Sometimes I get sucked back in… like now.

So, yeah… this purchase was inevitable when seen under these circumstances. Basically, I bought the book when I wasn’t thinking about it and read it last week. It was good (not great, not wonderful, but good-ish). Here’s my thoughts.

We meet characters who live my life and I find that really relatable. But we also meet this group of 3 and then 6 at pivotal points in their lives. Many of them are going through tough times, some are at a turning point which needs to be taken – and we follow their journey, through their Friday Night Singalongs, and see the paths they choose to take. The characters were easy to follow, but I did have a few issues with the characterisation.

One, their thought processes and choices were too straight forward. I like characters that have to think things through, have flaws that aren’t thrown away so the plot can go forward easily – some of their choices and voices were too easy, I felt. It sometimes seemed as if this was happening just so more difficult plot points could be avoided. And two, some of their personal situations came from left field, whereas some were too heavily hinted. There was no mid-point. It was all or nothing and personally, I like to be led gently on a journey with my characters rather than thrown around.

I think I would have also preferred more significance put on some of the side-character’s stories, rather than mostly just hearing about the main leads. Some of their stories could have definitely been beefed up a bit, and been more of a credit to the story.

However, this story wasn’t all bad. It’s quirky plot point of including musicals brought the feeling of the book up and made it more of a happy journey. I enjoyed how the musicals chosen by the group enhanced the feelings or situations of the story and thought they were well chosen – I love a good musical!

I also thought that Lovell gave a true, balanced account of what being a teacher/teaching assistant can be like. There were many points in the story where I could say, “someone’s said this in a staff room for sure!”. It was refreshing, but sometimes put on a little heavy.

Finally, this read was a little bit of ease in my current reading schedule. I am working my way through Outlander by Diana Gabaldon at the moment and was feeling a little overwhelmed by the sheet size of this book. I wanted something easy that wouldn’t spoil my reading of other books by becoming all encompassing. I knew I could read this for a little bit of respite and then continue with Outlander too.

My Rating: 3 out of 5 Stars.

Yes, I think this book had some flaws, but it was ultimately a easy, fun read that passed the time nice and quickly. Don’t come into this read expecting miracles, but if you’re a musical fan looking for something quick to read, this might be the one for you.

 

2 thoughts on “Review: The Singalong Society for Singletons by Katey Lovell

Leave a Reply

