Bookish

Bookish Inspirations: La La Land

lalaland1

Alright: let’s lay it all out on the line. I went to see La La Land fully expecting to enjoy it. it seemed like everything I held dear in music and film. I wasn’t disappointed at all. I’ve been singing the songs since I left the cinema and constantly have that ‘dun dun dun duuuuun dun dun’ bit in my head. So with that in mind, of course I had to do one of my Bookish Inspiration!

Sidenote: there were lots of other books I could have included in this list. Lots and lots. But I never want to make these lists overwhelming, so you’ve got five. Five books that somehow link or make me think of La La Land. Here we go!

LLL d 12 _2353.NEF

We’ve Gotta Stop Bumping Into Each Other: The Time Traveller’s Wife by Audrey Niffennegger.

Okay, so the circumstances in this book are clearly very different to La La Land, but I think the concept of bumping into a person you’re supposed to spend more time with still rings true. I loved the times in the movie when Seb and Mia bumped into each other again and again – little meet-cutes before their story really begins!

The ‘Man, You Annoy Me!’ Trope: The Confessions of a Shopaholic by Sophie Kinsella.

Let’s me honest – everyone loves a romance that starts out with two exasperated individuals! That’s pretty much my favourite trope of all. Like Seb and Mia, Becky and Luke in the Shopaholic series get on each others nerves a fair bit before their romance truly starts. It’s a beautiful and hilarious thing!

Struggling Artists: One Day by David Nicholls

One Day was one of my favourite novels for a really long time, and I still think it’s brilliant! The characters in the novel are going through similar struggles to Mia and Seb – both are trying to fight their way down a path to their dreams, but there are trials along the way. The character of Dexter takes jobs which deep down he knows aren’t what he really wants, too, which is similar to Seb’s storyline.

All The Colours: Furthermore by Taherah Mafi

Can we pause the chat on the plot for a second to talk about how amazingly beautiful the cinematography of La La Land was? Because it was so good! The colours were perfect for each scene and helped me fall in love with the movie. This book has colour as a central concept and looks so intriguing!

The ‘What If?’ Principle: The Versions of Us by Laura Barnett

****This is a bit spoiler-y, so look away if you haven’t seen the movie yet! 

The last 15 minutes of the movie, I think, are the most heartbreaking of all! The dream sequence made my little heart ache, but also made the story remain true and meaningful – not everyone gets a happily ever after, but that doesn’t mean their life isn’t good. This book takes the same two characters on different journeys depending of what decisions they make in their life – a good companion to the end of La La Land.

***

Basically, go see this movie and read these books. You won’t be disappointed! In fact, you’ll probably spend the day smiling, laughing and singing!

Leave a Reply

