Top 5 Wednesday

T5W: Overdone Book Trends

Okay, so let’s get something straight. I love a good trope! I’m a sucker for some, let me tell you! But there are a few that make me sigh when I see them, and honestly, sometimes they make me want to put down the book. Here are some of those overdone bookish trends:

**Also, a little disclaimer: of course these are only my own thoughts. If we don’t agree, that’s fine. We’re different readers after all!

Love Triangles

t5w-feb8-17-1

For a time, every YA book I picked up seemed to have a love triangle in it. It was exhausting! Give me some couple romance, or none at all, but please… not another triangle. One of the last series I read with a love triangle was The Selection Series – a guilty pleasure of mine, but once I’ve picked a side, I really can’t be bothered with triangle tension. It also annoyed me in The Twilight Series (which seems like a lifetime ago!).

Too Much Fighting

t5w-feb8-17-2

I can’t stand wars. In any universe, real or not real, I can’t stand them. I find them boring to read, sometimes difficult to read – too much flicking from person to person, wondering who actually died two sentences ago – and often pointless. Sometimes a war/fight is just used as a page filler. The one that came to mind was a recent read – Monsters of Men by Patrick Ness. I was really psyched to finish the Chaos Walking trilogy but immediately lost focus when the book opened in a fighting scene. It’s not for me, folks!

Easy Plot

t5w-feb8-17-3

I’m all for an easy read – sometimes it’s exactly what I need from a book. But I want my characters to work a little for the plot, and oftentimes things just seem to fall into their lap. Real life isn’t always full of coincidences and fate and I like my reads to show that. My most recent read – The Singalong Society for Singletons (click for review) – did just that. Things happened too conveniently for them to be really convincing.

***

Well, at least I got to three and those are all I can think of at the moment. I’m sure I’ll find more as I read throughout the year – I’ll have to come back to this post and update it as I do so, haha! Any tropes you really can’t stand? Let me know!

Leave a Reply

