Bookish

This or That Book Tag

this-that-book-tag

Yay, another book tag! I love these! Thanks so much to Lara @ The Book Heathen for tagging me – you’re awesome! Let’s go!

Rules:

  • Mention the creator of the tag (Ayunda @ Tea and Paperbacks)
  • Thank the blogger who tagged you!
  • Tag other people to do the tag and spread the love!

***

Reading on the couch or reading on the bed?

Ooooh, is either an option? I love to read on the couch, especially during the daytime, but during term times this doesn’t really happen – I’m slumped at all times, except the occasional Saturday. So I’m most often found reading in bed just before I fall to sleep.

Main Character: male or female?

I’ve no preference really! I think most of the books I read have a female protagonist, but that isn’t through choice.

Sweet or salty snacks whilst reading?

twistmartha

Definitely sweet! Although, I must admit, I don’t really eat when I’m reading. A nice cup of tea does me just fine!

Trilogies or quartets?

If I have to pick one, I’ll say a trilogy, just because I find it difficult to remain curious about a series if there are too many books (especially when there’s loads of time between releases!). But to be honest, I enjoy a stand alone much more and wish there were more out there in the YA and fantasy genres – those two genres seemed to be filled with trilogies and long series! I do love a duology too, though – Six of Crows and Crooked Kingdom being my favourite!

First person or Third person POV?

Uh, either again. If the plots good and the characterisation is good, I’m not really fussed.

Night or morning reader?

Nighttime, because of reading in bed. I love to read at any time of day in the holidays though.

Libraries or bookstores?

bookquote

I love a trip to the bookstore, and admit that I buy more books than I take out at the library. I’m more likely to take out a book from the library if I don’t know whether I’ll like it or not. If I’m sure it’ll become a favourite, I’ll most likely buy it. Browsing in bookstores is my favourite hobby! I wish my local library was better stocked, too, because that might make me visit more regularly.

Books that make you laugh or books that make you cry?

All of the above! I love books that make me cry, and probably read those more than humorous books, tbh. But a laugh out loud book is great too!

Black or white book covers?

novgramwk34-2

Either again. Although, looking at my shelf, there’s definitely more black than white. A pretty cover is really all that matters to me though! Bring on all the pretty covers!

Character driven or plot driven stories?

I think different genres suit different styles, but characterisation is definitely important to me as a reader. There could be 101 things going on in a scene, but if the character seems off, then I’m not sold. Books that do both – now those are something I’m a sucker for!

***

I tag: whoever wants to! Let’s share the fun!

 

One thought on “This or That Book Tag

Leave a Reply

