Top Ten Tuesdays

TTT: Favourite Romances

Happy Valentine’s All! Let’s celebrate today by looking at my favourite ships from some of my favourite books!

*I’ve also tried to link the pages for the fanart pictures and artists’ names below – none belong to me!

Classics

fanart1
ceydran @ deviantart

Elizabeth and Mr Darcy: Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen

Of course I had to include these two lovelies! They are one of my ultimate pairings and I will love them and their story forever. So much pride, so much prejudice, so much love at the end of it all!

Anne and Fredrick: Persuasion by Jane AustenReview

My very favourite Austen pairing. I just love how much they still love each other after years of separation and heartbreak – theirs is a love that truly endures. Even though Fredrick tries his best to move on, he can’t. They are meant to be.

fanart2
arbetta @ deviantart

Jane and Mr Rochester: Jane Eyre by Charlotte BronteReview

One of my newest classic pairings! They are so angsty and gothic. Mr R loves Jane so passionately, and Jane is so unsure of what her heart is telling her at the start. However, my favourite part about their romance is how, in the end, they are at a much more equally footing and Jane is a strong woman in love.

Anne and Gilbert: Anne of Green Gables by LM Montgomery Review

These guys! They run circles around each other, both adamant that their feelings are ones of hate rather than love! I can’t wait to continue this series and see how their relationship develops.

Non-Classics

Celia and Marco: The Night Circus by Erin MorgensternReview

Ah, my heart. These two. Tied together in a vicious game and both so in love with the other, even though they know it is doomed. I love reading their story and watching as they fight their feelings before ultimately giving in.

Cathy and Levi: Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell

My favourite thing about this relationship – apart from the fact that Levi is in it, because, come on! – is that they really help each other grow and change for the better. Levi opens Cathy up to her feelings and helps with her anxiety, whilst Cathy shows Levi what it means to be loved by someone strongly and she’ll help him with his own challenges. Them reading together is everything!

fanart3
nilaffle @ deviantart

Nina and Matthias: Six of Crows Duology by Leigh BardugoSoC Review and CK Review

Ouch, my heart. These two just killed me with their sexual tension and their mutual love/hate-ness and the fact that they just couldn’t give each other up. So devoted to one another right up til the end.

September and Saturday: The Fairyland Series by Cathrynne M Valente

This is one I’ve still to see what happens with, but it’s still one of my favourites. They’ve never explicitly been a romantic pairing – their friendship is very strong. But is was implied in one of the earlier novels that their fates were tied and I am an absolute sucker for that.

Emma and Dexter: One Day by David Nicholls

I’ve loved these two together for a long time and still think about them often. All the obstacles thrown in their way and how much they truly cared for one another right until the end of the book. I just wish they’d had more time together.

Becky and Luke: The Shopaholic Series by Sophie Kinsella

My ultimate guilty pleasure romance. I love them together. They both cancel out the most annoying parts of themselves and make each other better. And they are hilarious too!

***

And there we have it – some of my favourite romances! I could have gone on forever but I think 10 is enough for now!

 

One thought on “TTT: Favourite Romances

Leave a Reply

