Top 5 Wednesday

T5W: Favourite Non-‘Written’ Novels

T5W was started by Gingerreadslainey and Sam. If you’d like to join in, click here to go to the Goodreads page.

***

Such a different topic for this week and it really got me thinking! It made me wonder about what a novel really is, and whether there are types of written word we value over others (imo, I think there definitely are!). So I’ve tried to group together a few different non-‘written’ novel types here – let’s get started!

♦ Graphic Novel: Maus by Art Spiegelman

maus

I’ve spoken a little about this graphic novel before, but not fully. I think it would take me a long time to really put into words how this graphic novel made me think and made me feel. It truly is a remarkable work of art, detailing the lives of two generations’ suffering of the Holocaust. It remains the only graphic novel I’ve ever read and don’t know how others would measure up (but it’s definitely a genre I want to explore further in the future!)

♦ Audiobook: Anne of Green Gables on Librivox

Okay, so if you’ve been reading my reviews for a while now, you’ll know how much I use the Librivox app! It’s a brilliant way of reading classic novels during my commute to and from work, and it’s one of the main reasons I manage to read so many classics, I think. Anne of GG is possibly the best one I’ve ‘read’ so far because the woman who narrates it – Karen Savage – has such a wonderful voice for all the characters! Read my review here.

♦ Audiobook: Jane Eyre on Librivox

Yet another audiobook, because I’m really into them at the moment. The Jane Eyre version I read, again on Librivox, was read by Elizabeth Klett, another fab voice actor. I’ve actually read a few other stories just because she has voiced them – she’s that good! Definitely worth a read or a listen. Read my review here.

♦ Bookish Podcast: http://tunein.com/embed/player/p803806/” target=”_blank”>New Yorker Fiction on TuneIn

podcast

A recent find for me, but something I’ve enjoyed when I’ve dipped into it. This podcast interviews authors on another author and one specific work, which they then read a favourite excerpt from. It’s fascinating hearing writers talk of their own, and others’ ways of writing, and it’s been a great way to get a flavour of a novel before choosing to pick it up. Give it a listen if you’re looking for a different kind of review.

♦ Fanfiction/FictionPress

Okay, let’s get real for a second. I think fanfiction can get a bit of a bad rep. Yes, some of it isn’t great quality – but sometimes you find a gem. Yes, sometimes it is a 13 year old writing with no sense of grammar – but everyone has to start somewhere. I think it’s a really great platform for people to try out writing and get some type of response. I also just like to live a little longer with characters and worlds I’ve loved. It’s a little bit of a guilty pleasure, but honestly, I don’t always feel so guilty about it.

***

What are some other types of novels you like? Any recommendations would be really great!

2 thoughts on “T5W: Favourite Non-‘Written’ Novels

  1. I don’t do this meme but it’s a really interesting topic like you said! I like literary magazines, like Litro or Granta. They have short stories rather than full novels and are still written so I don’t know if that counts, but that’s all I could think of, if I were to answer!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

