Top 5 Wednesday

T5W: Favourite Sci Fi and Fantasy Reads

T5W was started by Gingerreadslainey and Sam. If you’d like to join in, click here to go to the Goodreads page.

Okay, so I’d like to preface this with a note about how there is only one Sci Fi book on this list: all the others are Fantasy, because out of the two genres, that’s the one I read most. Although, if you’ve got any other SciFi recs, please send them my way. I’d love to branch out!

Anyway, these are some reads that I love from these two fab genres.

***

t5w-mar8-17

Ready Player One by Ernest Cline

My one and only Sci Fi read on this list, but it’s a book that I think about a lot! I read it quite a few years ago now and it’s still on my mind; that to me sounds like a good book. I loved the unique concept of a video game life in this book, and I think that’s one of the reasons I liked it so much.

The Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern – Review

All the love for this book! It’s probably one of my favourite books of all time and each time I read it, I fall in love all over again! It’s completely magical and atmospheric – not your normal fantasy set up, but maybe that’s why I love it. There might not be fights and adventures, but there’s lots in this book to enjoy.

The Golem and the Djinni by Helene Wecker

I stumbled across this book in a charity shop and picked it up on a whim. I’m so glad I did. Yes, this book is a bit of a brick, but I was drawn in from page one right until the end of the novel. It follows two characters who are confused as to who they are and what they want, and it’s completely lovely.

Six of Crows Duology by Leigh Bardugo – SoC Review & CK Review

Not a surprise that this book is on my list, but I had to include it! I loved this duology and flew through it at warp speed! It’s full of fun, adventure, mystery and awful-ly good characters. What more could you want?

Neverwhere by Neil Gaiman

It was hard to pick a Gaiman book for this list because I’ve loved all the ones I’ve read, but I really do have a soft spot for Neverwhere. It’s one of the first adult Gaiman novels I read, and it’ll always remind me of a good adventure.

***

There we go! Got any good sci fi/fantasy recommendations for me? I’m always on the hunt for something good!

Until next time!

2 thoughts on “T5W: Favourite Sci Fi and Fantasy Reads

Leave a Reply

