Bookish

Bookish Academy Awards 2017!

Okay, so I was browsing through various booktube videos, as you do, and stumbled upon PeruseProject’s Bookish Academy Awards video. It looked so fun that I thought I’d give it a try too! So here are the books that I’d give awards to.

All of these are books I read in 2016 only, just so you know 🙂 Also, I have reviewed lots of these books here on my blog – see the * beside the link to know which ones.

bookishacademyawards

Best Actor: Best Male in a Book

John Thornton in North and South by Elizabeth Gaskell  *

I went back and forth for this one, but ended up back at Thornton. I read quite a few classics last year, almost all with smouldering men in suits who were secretly inecure. John is my favourite out of them all. After you peel back the layers, you see a man who is deeply moved by the affection Margaret inspires in him, and that gets me every time. He goes on a journey in this novel, and I like that about him.

Best Actress: Best Female in a Book

Anne Shirley in Anne of Green Gables by L M Montgomery   *

This one probably doesn’t come as a surprise! Anne was one of my favourite characters of last year full stop. She is fun and witty and charming and full of energy – just what you want as a heroine in a children’s classic. I left this book and this character wishing I’d read about her antics sooner rather than later.

Best Cinematography: Best Plot Twist

Six of Crows Duology by Leigh Bardugo   **

They just kept coming in this duology! You could hardly take a breath before the game was changed. Both of these gems are fast paced and energetic in their plots, but also complex enough to leave the reader reeling. A big recommendation for sure!

Best Costume Design: Best Book Cover

The Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern   *

I mean, how couldn’t I pick this book?! I love, love, love this cover and how it perfectly matches the books mystery and atmosphere. Even the new editions that Penguin have brought out make me swoon inside. I also love the fact that the cover tells the story – but you don’t realise it until you’ve finished reading. Squee!

Best Original Screenplay: Best Plot/World

Carry On by Rainbow Rowell   *

I wasn’t sure about this one – I could have put quite a few of the books I’d read last year in this category – but in the end I went for Carry On. I chose it for it’s magic system and all its little quirks that make this book both fanfic-esque and something to stand in its own right. That alone tipped this one over for me.

Best Adapted Screenplay: Book to Movie

The BFG by Roald Dahl

I loved re-reading this book last year! It made me feel like I was re-entering my childhood again. You really can’t beat Dahl’s impeccable writing. I also really enjoyed the new movie version they made in 2016 – although my heart will always have a special place for the animated version I watched as a kid.

Best Animated Feature: Would Be a Good Animated Adaptation

The Girl Who Circumnavigated Fairyland in a Ship of her Own Making by Catherynne M Valente

Ah, this series. It’s made for being adapted; I can see it so clearly in my mind! The world is so fantastical and fun, with a range of mythical creatures to play with – who wouldn’t want to see September’s adventures played out on screen?! If you haven’t checked out this series yet, it’s a must!

Best Director:  New Author to You

V E Schwab: A Darker Shade of Magic

Yup, I had not read any V E Schwab until last year. She is a favourite author for so many people and I can’t believe I missed the hype for so long! I still need to finish this series but no doubt I’ll get to it soon enough.

Best Visual Effects: Best Action in a Novel

The Ask and the Answer by Patrick Ness

I have mixed feelings about this series now because it has taken me so long to get into the last book in the series but I can’t disregard the fact that this series has some serious action in it!

Best Documentary: Best Historical Fiction

The Golem and the Djinni by Helene Wecker

I would class this as historical fiction with a mythical and fantasy twist. I really loved this book, even though it was a bit of a chunk to get through! It was really worth it though – a lovely read about characters just trying to find their place in a world that is not their own.

Best Picture: Best Novel in 2016

My Grandmother Sends her Regards and Apologises by Fredrik Backman   *

Surprised? No, I wouldn’t think so either. I ranted and raved about this book so much last year and I still think about it’s brilliance. I loved this heartfelt story, I loved the vast range of characters. I just loved it, and if they made a movie of this, I would be really happy too!

***

So there we go! Those are the books I’d give awards to – would you have the same verdict or have different options for some categories? Let me know! Especially your best book of last year – I’m always curious about those!

 

Leave a Reply

