Bookish

Favourite Books: Winter ’16/’17

So winter is almost truly gone and I thought it would be a nice time to catalogue a few of my favourite reads over the last season. These are books I’ve read from December 2016 to March 2017 (even though most people consider March to be Spring, it’s not Spring in Scotland!). Here are a few of my favourites I’ve read in the last wee while which I’d definitely recommend!

Brown Girl Dreaming by Jacqueline Woodson5 StarsReview

This book was a total revelation of a novel. Written in prose, it was beautifully crafted and hit you right in the heart with each section! There was something so lovely about learning about someone’s life in this way, and it’s definitely one of my all-time favourite reads now.

The Silver Lining’s Playbook by Matthew Quick4.5 StarsReview

It has taken me a long time to finally pick up a Matthew Quick book but I’m so glad I did. This was very different from the movie, as I explain more in my full review, but I think I actually enjoyed the book better. I got a much fuller understanding of the characters and their motivations, and overall it was a great read!

The Hating Game by Sally Thorne5 StarsReview

I am just obsessed with this book and it’s not the type of book I’ve been into for a while. It was just exactly what I needed at the time – a brief reprieve from normal life, to look at a blossoming relationship filled with flirting and angst. What more could you want?! I still find myself thinking about Josh and Lucy, which means to me that my 5 star rating was really deserved. Think Rainbow Rowell but more saucy scenes. Yay!

+ 2 rereads: The Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern5 stars  – Review

and Persuasion by Jane Austen5 starsReview

I knew I was going to love these already as they are some of my favourites, but I’m really glad I dedicated time in December to reading them again. There’s something so nice about diving back into a book you know you love. I realise something new about them each time, and December was no exception. If you haven’t picked these up yet, please do.

What books have you loved over the Winter season?

Leave a Reply

