Top 5 Wednesday

T5W: Future Classics

Watch out, world! These books will be classics in the future!

*Also, a lot of these are actually considered modern classics, which means it’s hopeful that these will be read for many years to come.

***

futureclassics

The Time Traveller’s Wife by Audrey Niffenegger

This is such a beautiful book – lovely prose, strong and vivid characters and an immensely engaging plot. I have read this a handful of times and enjoyed each reading experience. The movie was popular, but I think the book is better.

The Harry Potter Series by JK Rowling

If you talk to enough Harry Potter fans, they’ll all be saying that they’ll be reading this series to their children some day. If that doesn’t say future classic, I don’t know what does.

The Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern

Ah, my love for this book! It really is a dream of a book – mystical, maddening, and full of amazing characters. I know so many people who loved this book, including myself! Full review here.

The Book Thief by Markus Zusak

I’m not overstating when I say this, but this book changed my reading life. I hadn’t read something so thought-provoking and beautiful for a while until I read this book a few years back, and it’s become a book I recommend to others all the time. My Mum just read it for the first time last week and loved it. It’s made me want to read it again soon.

Brown Girl Dreaming by Jacqueline Woodson

A new, recent favourite of mine, but one that I can see being recommended for years to come! It’s such a socially relevant piece of literature, written in a lovely, poetical way, and I can’t say enough good things about it. It just feels like a book that’ll stand the test of time. Read my full thoughts here!

***

So there we have it! Five books I think will be future classics! What books would you choose?

 

2 thoughts on “T5W: Future Classics

Leave a Reply

