Bookish

Bookish Inspirations: Beauty and the Beast

So, I went to see the new live action remake of Beauty and The Beast this weekend, which has been on my radar for so long! I loved it! It was so nice to dive back into a world that reminded me so much of childhood. That library, guys, that library!

Anyway, here are a couple of suggestions for books you might like, according to different themes in the movie. To see other Bookish inspirations, click here!

bookish inspirations- Beauty and the Beast

Tale as Old as Time: A ClassicPride and Prejudice or North and South

Pride and Prejudice has been a firm favourite of mine for forever, but North and South was one I properly found last year, and I’m so glad I did. As classics, they are both set in historical time periods, which makes the journey all the more fun! I love seeing how characters overcome the social rules of the time, which I suppose Belle does – she reads when others can’t imagine doing so; she helps whilst others only fend for themselves.

Bookish Belle: Cath from Fangirl

When I think of a girl who likes books I go to three characters immediately: Hermione Granger, Rory Gilmore and Cath from Fangirl. What I like most about Cath is the way she cares for the characters she reads about, which is so similar to how Belle reads, in my opinion. Youc an’t beat a good bookish character!

Father and Daughter Friendship: All the Light We Cannot See by Anthony Doerr

This is currently on the brain since I’m reading this at the moment. The friendship and adoration between Marie and her father in this novel is so lovely. They would clearly do anything for one another, and have such a strong bond because of only having each other to rely on. Such a lovely sight to see! Also, no spoilers – I’ve not finished this book yet and it’ll break my heart if I know what happens beforehand!

Love to Hate Relationship: The Hating Game by Sally Thorne

Ah, this book! I read it last month and have thought about it many times since. Even though it is chalk full of all of the usual tropes, that’s what makes it great! I love watching characters as they change and grow, and start to see the good side of each other.

and The Yellow Dress – a Yellow Book I Love: Bossypants by Tina Fey

This one is catching my eye right now. Just like Belle’s beautiful, bold yellow dress, Tina Fey’s enthusiastic writing and laugh out loud memoirs catch your eye and keep your attention from page one to the end. Definitely recommended!

Leave a Reply

