Top Ten Tuesdays

TTT: Most Unique Books I’ve Read.

*or books that felt unique when I first read them!

There are some books that you just know are good – they speak to you in some way, or they feel new and different. When I read the following books, I got that feeling tenfold. They were different from anything I’d read before and sparked a good-book feeling inside of me. Here we go!

***

ttt-apr11-17

Maus by Art Spiegelman

I read this graphic novel for a literature class in university and it was different to anything I’d ever read before. I’d never read a graphic novel or a comic before, but this book showed me just how thought-provoking and beautiful this type of book can be. A total revelation and and amazing, heart-wrenching book.

The Girl Who Circumnavigated Fairyland in a Ship of Her Own Making by Catherynne M Valente

I hadn’t read much children’s lit for a long time when I first picked up this book, and then ventured further into the series. It was like delving into a world I didn’t realise I missed. These books are fun, wistful and wacky – with a little dollop of sentimentality thrown in for good measure. I love them and really want to finish the series this year!

The Book Thief by Markus Zusak

I often say that this book sparked my love of reading again. I’d heard wonderful things about this book from friends at the time, and after I finished this book I couldn’t stop thinking about it; couldn’t stop hunting for a read that would make me feel this alive again. It’s one of the most beloved books in the genre now probably, but if you haven’t read this yet, now is as good a time as any!

Brown Girl Dreaming by Jacqueline WoodsonReview

One of the first books I read this year and definitely a favourite. I had never read a story written in prose before and this book matched this type of writing perfectly. I can’t imagine this book written any other way. A wonderful book for this time in society and something I definitely see myself dipping in and out of in the future.

The Night Circus by Erin MorgensternReview

You probably aren’t surprised that this read is on my list, but let’s just say I’m predictable. This was another one of these books that I felt was a revelation at the time. I hadn’t read a book that had such a touchable atmosphere, such as this one, in a long time. I felt like I was caught up in the game and could sense the tension at each turn. I still get this feeling when I re-read it too, which is always a good sign.

The Kite Runner by Khaled Hosseini

Recommended to me by a friend, this book sparked a love of reading all of Hosseini’s work. From memory, this was probably one of the most diverse reads I’d read before. It was touching and interesting and gave an insight into people and places I was desperate to see. Such a good read!

All the Light We Cannot See by Anthony DoerrReview

I just finished this book and couldn’t wait to put it onto this list. I have read a few wartime stories, as you can see from this list, but this one felt new and different again. It was interesting to see how words can changes the minds of children, and how children can be strong in times of stress. Personally, I think this book will become a classic, so pick this one up now!

***

There we go – books that felt unique when I first read them. Have you got others I should add to this list? There’s nothing better than a book that feels like nothing you’ve read before.

2 thoughts on “TTT: Most Unique Books I’ve Read.

Leave a Reply

