Bookish

Books I’ve DNFed – But Hope to Read Someday!

DNFed = Did Not Finish

I pretty much – as a rule – always finish a book. I don’t like not finishing a book, even if I’m not really enjoying it. Sometimes I’m just in the mood for something else. Sometimes I’m not in the right headspace for a certain book or genre. Sometimes I’m just bored. But whatever the reason, I’ve DNFed these books below and I’m sad about it. I hope to correct that and read them sometime soon!

dnfbooks1

The Muse by Jessie Burton

I got a good half way through this book before a realised I was just a little… bored. I wasn’t enjoying it and there were so many other books on my shelves that I was eager to read. I’m disappointed because I really enjoyed The Miniaturist! I think maybe I just wasn’t in the mood for this read and I’d kind of forced myself into it. Hopefully I’ll want to read it again soon!

American Gods by Neil Gaiman

This book is actually on this month’s TBR, so I’m actually rectifying this problem now – yay! When I originally read this book a few years ago now, I’d been right in a Gaiman kick and had basically exclusively only read his books for a whole month. I think I’d Gaiman-ed out. With the TV series on the rise, my excitement for this read it back and I’m so happy!

Requiem by Lauren Oliver

I’m bad at finishing series unless I read them all at once. This is something I’ve realised recently. I can’t jump into a sequel unless I’ve just read the other book because I just forget what happens. That’s the main reason I put this book down – it had been ages since I’d read the other two novels and I couldn’t remember that was going on. When I get back to this one, it’s going to have to have been when I’m re-reading the whole series!

Monsters of Men by Patrick Ness

Once again, a series I have not finished. I got about 100 pages in before I gave up on this one because I just wasn’t enjoying it. It really pains me to say that because the first book was excellent, and the second book was great too! I really wanted to love the conclusion to this series, but as I’ve actually mentioned before, I got put off because the book just jumped right into violence. I need to be led up to war-type events, haha! I think, when I’ve got the time for it, I’ll read book one and two again and then jump straight into three, so I’m completely immersed.

The Boy Who Lost Fairyland by Catherynne M Valente

I was really enjoying this series, so I was a little surprised when I opted to put this book down. I think it’s because the book switched gears and started following a different character other than September, and that threw me off. Part of my wonders if I can skip this book and just read the final novel – can I? Anyone out there read this series and think that’s okay? I just don’t want to miss any major plot points. We’ll see. I’m determined to finish this series this year, so I’ll dive in and give it another try soon.

***

There we go – five books I’ve DNFed but want to try again soon. What books have you DNFed recently and why?

Leave a Reply

