Readathons

Tome Topple Readathon: Mid-Way Update

tt readathon update

Alrighty, here’s a little recap of the challenges and my TBR for the readthon:

The Challenges:

  • Read more than 1 tome (book)
  • Read a graphic novel (bind ups count for this too!)
  • Read a tome that is part of a series
  • Buddy read a tome
  • Read an adult novel

My TBR:

Read an adult novel: American Gods by Neil Gaiman

Read a graphic novel: Blankets by Craig Thomson

Read a tome from a series: Red Sister by Mark Lawrence

Extra: The Book Thief by Markus Zusak

***

apriltbr

So I’ve been ploughing my way through these rather large books and here’s how it’s going so far!

RED SISTERRead/Unread/Currently Reading

I’ve finished a book – whoop! I’m really happy to have read this book, especially since it’s just been released. It was fast paced and engaging, and the main character just grew and grew as the book went on. I’ll keep more of my thoughts for my full review which will be coming your way soon. At least I can say that I’ve definitely completed two challenges now!

AMERICAN GODSRead/Unread/Currently Reading

After finishing Red Sister, I realised that I couldn’t just dive into another fantasy novel and I needed to take a breather. I’m definitely planning on at least starting this novel during the readathon but realistically, I’ll probably not finish it. I’m still excited to get into it though!

BLANKETSReading/Unread/Currently Reading

I’ve actually been back at my parent’s house visiting for the last week and my copy of Blankets was sitting at home.¬†I got back yesterday and started reading this one then. I can’t tell you how excited I am to dive into a graphic novel – this is a mostly unexplored genre for me, and I’ve heard fantastic things. I’m about 70 pages in just now and it’s been an emotional roller-coaster already – wish me luck!

THE BOOK THIEFReading/Unread/Currently Listening To

So I’m not sure if using an audiobook for one of the reads is cheating, but I’m doing it anyway (it’s 19 hours long – I think it should count!). I fancied reading this in a different format since it’s a re-read and I’m really enjoying it. It’s so much eerier when Death has a voice. Plus, I recently managed to pick up an ARC of the book, so when I can, I’m reading and listening at the same time.

***

Are you participating in this readathon – what books are you reading if you are? It’s been a really great chance to read some big books that I would normally put to the side.

There’s another week to go in this readathon but I’m not sure how much time I’ll have because work starts back again on Tuesday. Still, I’m going to keep plodding on and enjoying these enormous books! Happy reading, all!

 

Leave a Reply

