Monthly Wrap Ups

April Wrap-Up: What I Read this Month

This has been a good reading month for me! I kicked it off with the two week Easter Holiday, which is always good for reading, and to top that off, I participated in the Tome Topple Readathon, which encouraged me to read some enormous books! So, without further ado, let’s see what I read this month!

A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J Maas

Read/Unread/CurrentlyReading

I finished this book right at the beginning of this month and I’m glad to say I’ve read it. If I’m honest, I think I should have read it more quickly so that the pace of the book was kept up, and because I read it slowly I wasn’t as immersed as I wanted to be. I explain more in my full review. It was still good though!

All the Light We Cannot See by Anthony Doeer

Read/Unread/CurrentlyReading

What a wonderful, haunting ride this was. I’m so glad I’ve read this book now; it’s definitely a favourite from this year. So touching, so poignant, so lovely and terribly sad. My full review is here.

Norse Mythology by Neil Gaiman

Read/Unread/CurrentlyReading

My first Audible purchase! Yes, I caved and got Audible. I had been going along with the free audiobooks for so long, but I wanted more of a selection to choose from, so here we are. I’m so happy I chose to read this book using audio. Neil Gaiman narrates it himself which makes it a special experience. Full review here!

#famous by Jilly Gagnon

Read/Unread/Did Not Finish (DNFed)

So, I didn’t finish this book. I started it with the intention of reading it before the readathon started as a palate cleanser from my other recent reads, but it just wasn’t working for me. I wasn’t engaging well with the characters and, by the time the readathon started, there were so many other books I wanted to dive into. Never say never, but I won’t be picking this book up again for a while.

Red Sister by Mark Lawrence

Read/Unread/CurrentlyReading

My first completed read from the readathon and it was such an exciting one! This was one of the books I received in my Feb Illumicrate Box, and it was really cool to read it just after it was released. Find my full thoughts in the review here.

The Book Thief by Markus Zusak (reread)

Read/Unread/CurrentlyReading

I decided to re-read this wonderful book and went with the audiobook since I fancied reading it in a different format. I actually really enjoyed listening to the story, especially since it was literally narrated by Death – it made it more haunting, more feeling – if that was even possible.

Blankets by Craig Thompson

Read/Unread/CurrentlyReading

I’m so glad I picked this graphic novel up and read it. I seemed to fly through it, but I still found it utterly heart-breaking and engaging, and can’t recommend it enough! This might be a good starting point if you’re new to graphic novels – this is only the second graphic novel I’ve read and it felt so easy to dive into.

American Gods by Neil Gaiman

Read/Unread/CurrentlyReading

Yay, I finished my last mammoth book of this month! I wasn’t really sure what I expected, but it was definitely really different – not in a bad way at all! I did feel a little tired whilst reading this, because of all the BIG books, but I did enjoy it. I’m still trying to figure out what I feel about this read, actually.

The Hate U Give by Angie Thomas

Read/Unread/CurrentlyReading

Just started this a few days ago, but I can already tell what an important, powerful read this will be. I’m probably gonna go read this right now.

***

There we have it! What a long list! I’m really happy with what I managed to complete this month – a real mix of books! What did you finish this month?

Leave a Reply

