Top Ten Tuesdays

TTT: On My Reading Wishlist – the HEA.

*weekly meme started over on The Broke and The Bookish!

Alrighty, out the bat I’m going to admit that I found this topic quite tricky. There weren’t too many things on my reading wishlist, but one did come to mind, and it’s a little bit of a gushy one. I want just a tad more of the happy ending.

Now, I don’t mean I want all books to end happily – no, no, no! In fact, quite a few of my favourite books have sadder endings that end up being more meaningful for them. What I mean is: I don’t want an abrupt HEA ending – I want it teased out with a little bit more substance, so I can see those beloved characters finally get what I wanted for them.

Now I know this is a little controversial –  a lot of people aren’t a fan of this, especially when it’s in epilogue form, but heck – I love it. So here’s a small selection of books where I wanted just a little bit more of that lovely, normal-life, happiness.

***

ttt-may9-17

The Raven King by Maggie Stiefvater – Series Review

Okay, so I’m going to clarify. I really wanted to know what happened after ‘the event’. That was my main bug bare with the ending – I wanted to know what happened immediately after, rather than a little selection of anecdotes from weeks later. She probably wants us to form it in our own minds, but after four books I felt like I’d earned it. I guess that’s what fanfic is for, haha!

Attachments by Rainbow Rowell

Anyone else feel like this book just suddenly stops?! I honestly thought my book had a page missing when I finished that book. After so long, and such a hard, difficult journey full of mishaps and misunderstandings, I wanted just a little bit longer to bask. I must admit that Rainbow does give us a little bit of the HEA, but is it wrong to want more?

The Hating Game by Salley ThorneReview

I have recently read and raved about this read and I still think about it often. I became so engrossed in this couple that I couldn’t help but want more! More, I say! I want to see the trip to Strawberry Fields, basically. That’s what I want. And if you don’t know what I mean because you haven’t read this yet, get on it. You’ll not regret it! This is the perfect time for a steamy contemporary!

and Persuasion by Jane AustenReview

I almost cringe a little at myself for mentioning this one, but it does spring to mind. Probably because it’s one of my all time favourites and my favourite Austen, but I wanted a little more from the ending than I got. I know it probably wouldn’t have been wanted, and the rest of their lives are left to the imagination of the reader, but I want more of their domestic life because… it’s just lovely. *sighs*

***

Okay, so more like a Top 4 Tuesday from me this week, but that’s that. Can you think of any books that needed just a little bit more happy time before it finished? Because let’s face it; when you’re in a wonderful world and really invested in those characters, you don’t want to leave.

Ciao!

Leave a Reply

