Top 5 Wednesday

T5W: Books as Event Themes!

T5W was started by Gingerreadslainey and Sam. If you’d like to join in, click here to go to the Goodreads page.

This is such a fun theme today! We are now fully in spring mode, heading straight towards summer, so the events are starting to pile up! Weddings and parties and all that fabulous jazz! So here are a few books that would be great as an event theme!

***

t5w-may10-17

A Night at the Summer Fair: The Night Circus by Erin MorgensternReview

When I think of this book, I think bonfires and magic and toasted marshmallows and mystery. I get all those feelings and see those things when I go to a fair at evening time. It’s so atmospheric – just like this book is – and makes me feel like anything can happen.

The Fancy Dress Party: Caraval by Stephanie GarberReview

You were never really sure who was who in Caraval, like when you go to a masquerade. It’s intriguing and interesting, and puts you slightly on edge.  Plus, the costumes described in this book were amazing, so who wouldn’t want to go to a fancy dress party as Scarlett?

Picnic in the Garden: Anne of Green Gables by L M MontgomeryReview

Ah, this book. It’s just breathes summer air to me. I can’t think about this book and not smile. Anne is just a wonderful character, full of fun and mischief and endearing qualities. I’m imagining picnic food and playing frisbee and hanging with friends. Such a summery book.

Graduation: Brown Girl Dreaming by Jacqueline WoodsonReview

I feel like you – both literally and figuratively – go through such a journey with this read, that that the end you feel like you’ve accomplished something. And you know that Woodson has. When I graduated from university, I felt like I’d done something huge, and this book is just like that. A revelation, a great deed. A must read for all!

The Wedding: Shopaholic Ties the Knot by Sophie Kinsella

This one is a bit of a foregone conclusion, but I’m adding it in anyway. It’s also a bit spoiler-y if you haven’t read/heard of the Shopaholic series. But when I think of books and weddings in the same wavelength, this book is the one that comes to mind. The wedding and wedding planning in this book is utterly hilarious. Full of mayhem and lovely moments that I can’t help but think reading this book brings up the same emotions as actually planning a wedding, haha!

***

There we have it! Bookish themed events – how lovely!

Until next post!

Leave a Reply

