Reviews

Review: The Hate U Give by Angie Thomas

This was one of my most anticipated reads of the year. I feel like I’ve been hearing about this book for forever – and rightly so – and I finally put in the time to pick it up. Here’s my thoughts!

thug1

Spoiler Free Review

Title: The Hate U Give

Author: Angie Thomas

Published: Harper Teen, 2017

Pages: 453

Some links: Goodreads and Amazon

***

(from GR) Sixteen-year-old Starr Carter moves between two worlds: the poor neighborhood where she lives and the fancy suburban prep school she attends. The uneasy balance between these worlds is shattered when Starr witnesses the fatal shooting of her childhood best friend Khalil at the hands of a police officer. Khalil was unarmed.

***

I’m going to keep this one short and sweet because, if you’re going to read anything right this minute, I’d rather it be this book and this post.

This was such a powerful book. Written by an #ownvoices author, it spoke of such difficult topics with honesty and helped the reader understand more about violence that some of us only interact with through screens. It painted a true picture of what it must be like to be surrounded by such violence, and how others can view this type of event. It played out an event that we hear about so often now, and showed differing viewpoints and subsequent events in a way that spoke volumes. I can completely understand why this book is being called a triumph. It completely is.

I enjoyed Starr’s character so much – loved her view of the world, her relationship with her family. Her responses to such an horrific event rang true and helped open up conversations about how we deal with incidents of police brutality, and how we view others because of their life circumstances. She just seemed so genuine, and I guess that comes from the authors own experiences.

Although this book dealt with tough topics – which, let’s be honest, we all know should be talked about way more than it is sometimes – Thomas gives us an insight and let’s us walk along this path with Starr in a way that feels really accessible. There was never a moment in the story when I felt ‘out’ of it. I was really immersed and felt everything alongside Starr.

There were a few moments where I felt the pace of the story dipped a little, but other than that I can’t really fault this book. It should become required reading, if I’m being honest. An important story from an important character, and if you’ve not picked it up yet, there’s no better time to than now.

My Rating: 4.5 out of 5 stars!

I’m happy to have ticked off one of my most anticipated books now, and can’t wait to dive into the rest! Yay!

3 thoughts on “Review: The Hate U Give by Angie Thomas

Leave a Reply

