Top Ten Tuesdays

TTT: Characters Who’d Be Great Mums!

*weekly meme started over on The Broke and The Bookish!

A Mother’s Day Freebie, where I decided to think of the best ladies I’ve read and what they’d be like as Mums. This was such a lovely theme and made me smile as I thought about it!

ttt-may16-17

Lizzie from Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen

Can you imagine little Lizzie/Darcy babies running around with bewitching eyes and wild hair and muddy petticoats?! I can! I think she’d be a gentle, loving Mum with a stern side too. But I can imagine lots of running around Pemberley, that’s for sure!

Elsa from My Grandmother… by Fredrik Backman

Having had such a wonderful childhood thanks to her own Grandmother, I can imagine Elsa using this with her children too, and making sure they went on lots of adventures.

Becky from The Shopaholic Series by Sophie Kinsella

So, there is actually a book in this series about just this: Becky being a Mum. I’ve not read it because I felt this series was becoming a bit too long, but I can imagine it being one heck of a ride! With lots of chastising from Luke, too. What a pair!

Leisel from The Book Thief by Markus Zusak

Leisel goes through so much in her childhood, I can imagine her being a little bit unsure about having kids, to be honest. But I think, after getting over those insecurities, she’d be the most loving Mum, caring so well for her children, and lovingly calling her husband a Saukerl in memory of Rosa.

Anne from Anne of Green Gables by L M Montgomery

I’m imagining Anne watching her mim-me running wild and reminiscing about the good old days. What a lovely image!

Emma from One Day by David Nicholls

I remember reading this book and thinking it was so sad that Emma and Dexter never had a child, because after all the back and forth between them, a child would have been lovely to see. I think she’d have made a excellent Mum.

Margaret from North and South by Elizabeth Gaskell

Margaret and John babies would be lovely, I’m sure of it. I know Mrs Thornton would have lots to say on the matter, but I like to think that Margaret would stand for what she wanted in being a Mum. And be so wonderful with her children.

Blue from The Raven Cycle Series by Maggie Stiefvater

Because after all the mess at the start of their relationship, years down the line, can’t you see a Blue/Gansey child going up and down hills with his parents, laughing and joking and exploring? Sigh.

***

Which characters do you think would make great Mums? Happy Mother’s Day when it comes!

 

Leave a Reply

