Top 5 Wednesday

T5W: Summer-y Reads!

T5W was started by Gingerreadslainey and Sam. If you’d like to join in, click here to go to the Goodreads page.

So, it’s the middle of May. For lots of places it’s probably approaching nice, summer weather. Here in Scotland we’ve just had a nice long (unexpected) sunny spell, so we’re probably about to face months of rain and wind. But, oh well! Today I’m gonna bring back the sun by talking about some of my favourite sunshine-y reads.

t5w-may17-17

Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell

So, I know this story documents an entire year of university aka. not summer time, but it still feels summery to me. To be honest, I could probably have put any Rainbow Rowell book here because she’s pretty much my favourite contemporary author, and her books scream summer and happiness. I’ve always read this during the summer, so that’s probably also why. Would wouldn’t want to hang out with Cath and Levi on a summer day?

Anne of Green Gables by L M Montgomery

After reading this, I felt like I wanted to live out my own summers with Anne. Exploring by her side, drinking iced tea and chatting away. Such a lovely little gem of a book, and so light and free that it’s the perfect classic companion for a summer day.

The Collected Works of A J Fikry by Gabrielle Zevin

When I think of this book I just let out a nice, happy sigh. It’s not all light and rainbows, but I do think of this book as being just nice. It’s a lovely, heartwarming story and sometimes you just need that in your life. And what better time than those summer months?

The Sun is Also a Star by Nicole Yoon

So, at time of writing, I’m currently reading this book and it’s making me feel like summer is upon us even though, realistically, it’s not. I’m really loving it so far and the happy, first hours of love vibe I’m getting can’t be denied. Plus, it has the word ‘sun’ in the title.

Talking as Fast as I Can by Lauren Graham

I love a good autobiography in the summer to break up the genres I’m reading and this is a new like of mine. It’s fun and not too hardcore – the perfect read for a day at the beach, I think. And you could binge watch Gilmore Girls in the summer too. Oh, plans are definitely coming together now!

***

There we have it! Some lovely, summer-time reads for you to enjoy! What would be on your list?!

 

 

2 thoughts on “T5W: Summer-y Reads!

Leave a Reply

