Top 5 Wednesday

T5W: Favourite Minor Characters!

T5W was started by Gingerreadslainey and Sam. If you’d like to join in, click here to go to the Goodreads page.

This was such a fun theme this week! For once, I actually had too many characters to choose from, so you’ve got a little section here. I’m choosing to name ‘minor characters’ as characters who are not the main characters in the book/series. On with the blog post!

t5w-may24-17

Mr Collins from Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen

I mean, how could I not include this character?! He is sheer brilliance and stupidity. Such a ridiculous character, and one I always laugh at when I reread/watch adaptations.

Suzy from The Shopaholic Series by Sophie Kinsella

What a wacky sidekick she is for Becky. I love their friendship, and how fiercely loyal she is towards Becky and her harebrained schemes. Also, her fashion sense is something else. She’s just pure fun.

Irene from The Sun is Also a Star by Nicola Yoon

A recent read that I’ve really enjoyed and out of all the minor characters, I’d have to say that Irene stuck with me the most. In the book you get to see glimpses of the lives of lots of minor characters, but her’s was the one I thought of the most. Heartbreaking and truthful, she stuck in my mind throughout the story, and I’m very glad we got to see her little story played out fully.

Luna from The Harry Potter Series by JK Rowling

I love me some Luna Lovegood. More people should have her positivity, strength and optimism.

Rudi from The Book Thief by Markus Zusak

He makes me cry every time. Such a wonderful, faithful friend to Leisel and he has determination stamped onto his soul. I love him, and he makes the story just that little bit more painful. But I love him all the same!

***

Five wonderful minor characters, without whom those books wouldn’t be the same. What are some of your favourite minor characters? Sometimes I actually love them more than the main characters!

See ya!

Leave a Reply

