Reviews

Review: The Sun is Also a Star by Nicola Yoon

An unexpected addition to my May TBR, and I am so glad I read it!

thesunisalsoastar

Spoiler Free Review

Title: The Sun is Also a Star

Author: Nicola Yoon

Published: Delacorte Press, 2016

Pages: 348

Some links: Goodreads and Amazon

***

(from GR) Natasha: I’m a girl who believes in science and facts. Not fate. Not destiny. Or dreams that will never come true. I’m definitely not the kind of girl who meets a cute boy on a crowded New York City street and falls in love with him. Not when my family is twelve hours away from being deported to Jamaica. Falling in love with him won’t be my story.

Daniel: I’ve always been the good son, the good student, living up to my parents’ high expectations. Never the poet. Or the dreamer. But when I see her, I forget about all that. Something about Natasha makes me think that fate has something much more extraordinary in store—for both of us.

***

I’d been curious about this book for quite a while now. I read Everything, Everything a year or so ago, and if I’m honest, I wasn’t really a fan. So I was a little unsure about this book – regardless of all the good things I was hearing about it. Thankfully, however, all the good comments I’d heard about it were true, and it was such a joy to read.

I loved the characters! Both Natasha and Daniel were extremely likeable, and I felt sympathy for their situations from the get go. I enjoyed piecing together parts of their lives and their thoughts as we flicked back and forth from their perspectives. It was wonderful to read from the perspective of diverse characters, and see a powerful theme being played out by them.

Speaking of theme: what an incredibly relevant moment for this book to be around. It was brilliant to hear more about people dealing with situations of immigration, and have such a well rounded character as Natasha to lead it. I feel this book really humanized the situations you hear so much about in the news, and it was really refreshing.

Some of my favourite parts of the book were when we switched perspectives again, and were told the backstories and futurestories of some of the secondary characters. I love how this expanded the story and yet also brought it closer to home. I also really enjoyed the scientific sections – not put off-able at all! – and how they made me feel closer to Natasha’s character as a result.

The book gave me (500) Days of Summer vibes a little, and yes, was perdictable in parts, but it really was a joy to read. Quiet, yet powerful. At once talking about larger than life topics, and still managing to bring them into close range. Yoon managed to create a story that linked all of us, regardless of our situations, and there was something really lovely about that.

My Rating: 4.5 out of 5 stars!

A really great read. I was going to give it 5 stars, but sometimes I feel like I really need to be blown apart for 5 star status, and though it wasn’t far off, it didn’t quite make it. Although I feel that way about a lot of books in the contemporary genre. Still a fantastic book, though, and one I’d definitely recommend if you’re looking for something that packs a punch, but is still on the lighter side.

What did you think of this book? What other contemporary novels do you recommend?

Bye!

3 thoughts on “Review: The Sun is Also a Star by Nicola Yoon

Leave a Reply

