Reviews

Review: Nimona, Graphic Novel by Noelle Stevenson

As soon as I picked up this graphic novel for a browse, I knew I was going to buy it. It’s fun and quirky writing paired with it’s funky illustrations made me reach out and grab. Here’s my thoughts on Nimona!

nimona

Spoiler Free Review

Title: Nimona: Graphic Novel

Author: Noelle Stevenson

Published: Harper Collins, 2015

Pages: 272

Some links: Goodreads and Amazon

***

(from GR) Nimona is an impulsive young shapeshifter with a knack for villainy. Lord Ballister Blackheart is a villain with a vendetta. As sidekick and supervillain, Nimona and Lord Blackheart are about to wreak some serious havoc. Their mission: prove to the kingdom that Sir Ambrosius Goldenloin and his buddies at the Institution of Law Enforcement and Heroics aren’t the heroes everyone thinks they are.

***

This book can be summed up in one word: fun. It was just fun. It was an easy read and really enjoyable. I saved it for nearer the end of the month when I’m tired, because I knew it was going to be something I could dip into and it wouldn’t take anything out of me. I was taken on a lovely, villainous journey full of mischief and mayhem.

Nimona is such an interesting character: mischevious and hell bent on revenge on the outside, but deeply hurt and betrayed on the inside. It’s always an interesting mix. I loved how spunky she was and how driven towards her cause she seemed. I loved her vulnerable moments too, which allowed her to form a stronger friendship with Blackheart. He was an interesting one too – not really wanting to form a friendship but loving Nimona anyway. He had that bad-guy-wants-to-do-good thing going on, which I always enjoy.

The plot of the story was quite simplistic, but I wasn’t expecting anything too complex from this novel anyway. It was the good versus evil story, where the lines are completely blurred, and I always like when you’re seeing from the bad side. It makes it a more thought-provoking and exciting read. However, the novel did also bring up some interesting questions about how people are treated and how things can be seen differently by other people.

I did feel like we fell into the ending a bit quickly and didn’t get to fully understand the repercussions of what was happening, but it was played out in an interesting way – leaving myself both satisfied and wanting at the same time.

Finally, I really did love the style of illustrations used. They were cartoon-like which made them accessible, and the sharp lines and colours worked well with the themes of the story. I will say that some of the penultimate scenes where quite dark, and I did fins myself having to squint to double check what was happening. But overall I really liked the style and how it added to the fun nature of the story. Oh, and one of my favourite parts was at the end where you saw the development of the drawings in creating the characters!

My Rating: 4 out of 5 stars!

A nice bit of escapism and a lovely piece of art – I’ll definitely be on the look out for more from Noelle Stevenson!

Leave a Reply

